Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2020, 05:41 AM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 525
Default Time adjuster : fine adjustment of delay

Hi,
Somehow Time Adjuster does not respond to the Command key modifier for fine adjustment of the sample delay, this drives me nuts. It used to... I think ?
Level reponds ok
Is this some forgotten bug ?
thanks for any light on the subject

Mark
2013 cylinder, Mojave, 16GB ram, Latest Pro Tools Ultimate and plugins
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Mixer, Writer, Teacher
Pro Tools Ultimate HDX
Mac Pro 2013 & Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2020, 05:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,307
Default Re: Time adjuster : fine adjustment of delay

OS version?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2020, 12:48 AM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 525
Default Re: Time adjuster : fine adjustment of delay

Mojave, but I think that this has been going on for some time
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Mixer, Writer, Teacher
Pro Tools Ultimate HDX
Mac Pro 2013 & Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2020, 09:31 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,930
Default Re: Time adjuster : fine adjustment of delay

Click on the numbers and enter the value you want
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2020, 09:56 AM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 525
Default Re: Time adjuster : fine adjustment of delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Click on the numbers and enter the value you want
Thanks, but perhaps you missed the point. All plugins, or at least all Avid plugins obey certain rules. And one of them is that when you want to fine tune a specific parameter, you use the Command modifier.

Obviously something was forgotten on this particular plugin and it is very annoying since I use for example the time adjuster to find the right phase relationship I want between a mic and a Di on a double bass or guitar.
Beeing able to shift sloooowly the delay makes this process very efficient. Having to manually input values is a drag. I noticed this quite a while ago, but lacked the time to mention this here. And I KNOW this used to work fine a few years ago when I was recording guitar amps with a multi-miked setup

Envoyé de mon SM-G950F en utilisant Tapatalk
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Mixer, Writer, Teacher
Pro Tools Ultimate HDX
Mac Pro 2013 & Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2020, 01:43 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,930
Default Re: Time adjuster : fine adjustment of delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchman View Post
Thanks, but perhaps you missed the point. All plugins, or at least all Avid plugins obey certain rules. And one of them is that when you want to fine tune a specific parameter, you use the Command modifier.

Obviously something was forgotten on this particular plugin and it is very annoying since I use for example the time adjuster to find the right phase relationship I want between a mic and a Di on a double bass or guitar.
Beeing able to shift sloooowly the delay makes this process very efficient. Having to manually input values is a drag. I noticed this quite a while ago, but lacked the time to mention this here. And I KNOW this used to work fine a few years ago when I was recording guitar amps with a multi-miked setup

Envoyé de mon SM-G950F en utilisant Tapatalk
I see what you mean. I calculate by setting the sub-counter to samples, then use Tab to Transient to locate the exact start of each, then offset one by the correct number of samples(sometimes with Time Adjuster to move a track later, or with nudge if I want to move one earlier).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2020, 01:49 PM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 525
Default Re: Time adjuster : fine adjustment of delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I see what you mean. I calculate by setting the sub-counter to samples, then use Tab to Transient to locate the exact start of each, then offset one by the correct number of samples(sometimes with Time Adjuster to move a track later, or with nudge if I want to move one earlier).
I do more or less the same but once you get the "scientific" figure, it is good to tweak the setting like one or two samples forward, one or two backwards and listen at the result. For this, fine setting would be necessary !

Envoyé de mon SM-G950F en utilisant Tapatalk
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Mixer, Writer, Teacher
Pro Tools Ultimate HDX
Mac Pro 2013 & Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2020, 06:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,930
Default Re: Time adjuster : fine adjustment of delay

Point taken and it sounds like either a bug, or a darn good suggestion(will see if I can push it up the flagpole)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time adjuster, delay comp question necjamc Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 10 02-01-2010 08:27 PM
Time Delay Adjuster plugin... dougied 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-06-2009 01:50 PM
Manual Delay Compensation using Time Adjuster Plugin deanguidry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-28-2008 10:30 AM
Fine volume adjustment gbours Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-02-2006 08:23 PM
How to tell the Delay (for use with time adjuster) Snarf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-12-2006 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com