Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2013, 09:24 AM
jerry g jerry g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Milford, PA
Posts: 10
Default Eleven Rack Question

Hi all,

Sorry for the newb question.

Can I use a set of XLR-RCA adapters on the main outputs for playback through my home stereo? Or do I have to buy a new set of monitors specifically designed for XLR?

Thanks,
Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2013, 09:36 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,441
Default Re: Eleven Rack Question

You can adapt XLR to RCA and go into a line-in on your home stereo. Play with gain staging between the systems to find what sounds best. You can probably also connect the Eleven Rack digitally over S/PDIF if you have a DAC or surround sound processor in the home stereo.

Now how the eleven rack will sound, and if it gets close to sounding like a real "guitar amp In the room" or not depends on how good your audio system is. Small little bookshelf speakers and a small amp are not likely to do it. My B&W 802s being driven by a great 500W or so amp sound fantastic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2013, 12:22 PM
jerry g jerry g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Milford, PA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Eleven Rack Question

Thanks for the info.

I have an old Onkyo receiver with a set of 2 way bookshelf and a set of 3 way floor standing speakers.

As far as "line in" do you mean a regular input like the phono input?

How do you adjust the gain on the 11r?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2013, 12:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,441
Default Re: Eleven Rack Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry g View Post
Thanks for the info.

I have an old Onkyo receiver with a set of 2 way bookshelf and a set of 3 way floor standing speakers.

As far as "line in" do you mean a regular input like the phono input?

How do you adjust the gain on the 11r?
Line-in aka line-level inputs will be a pair of RCA connectors labeled things like "CD", "DVD", "DAT" etc. if you happen to have a system that has a real live old fashioned pair of RCAs labeled "phono" then no that input is *not* line-level input that is a phono input (=phonogram, e.g. output from a record turntable cartridge/stylus) level input, much lower level than a line level input, not compatible at all.

The Eleven Rack has multiple level adjustments, including amp "gain" within the amp sims, rig output level, main volume level, headphone volume etc.. you need to work thought the manual to understand all this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2013, 12:37 PM
jerry g jerry g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Milford, PA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Eleven Rack Question

Thanks for the help Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2013, 12:56 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,662
Default Re: Eleven Rack Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry g View Post
Hi all,

Sorry for the newb question.

Can I use a set of XLR-RCA adapters on the main outputs for playback through my home stereo? Or do I have to buy a new set of monitors specifically designed for XLR?

Thanks,
Jerry
You don't HAVE to buy a new set of Studio Monitors, but it would for certain be a good idea if you want to get the truest sound from your Eleven Rack.

Also a good pair of headphones will come in handy when you need to keep things quiet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2013, 01:04 PM
jerry g jerry g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Milford, PA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Eleven Rack Question

My receiver has a VDP input, would this do?

There is only one input for CD and that is being taken up.

There is other inputs like "tape" and "vcr", would any of these do?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2013, 01:28 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,441
Default Re: Eleven Rack Question

Tape or VCR inputs will do. Make sure it is not labeled output.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack i/o question? jc7 Eleven Rack 3 12-13-2012 02:21 PM
Eleven Rack window responds to changes on Eleven Rack, unable to record. pine Eleven Rack 6 08-02-2012 08:50 PM
I/O question Motif Rack ES & Eleven Rack greenetunes MIDI 4 05-27-2012 08:47 PM
Eleven Rack/PT question Intelli-Shred Eleven Rack 3 02-22-2012 06:15 AM
Eleven Rack & 003 Rack+ question deadshot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-29-2011 01:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com