Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #5011  
Old 11-20-2012, 03:49 PM
CME CME is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doven View Post
Also, has anyone here set up hotswap bays/drives before on these builds? If so what is your experience?
I don't swap my OS drive, but I do have a bay/tray on the top of my case I use for recording. Works great. Just remember to "eject" the HD before removing it. At least in OSX. I don't use windows on it much. So I couldn't tell you there.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #5012  
Old 11-20-2012, 03:52 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doven View Post
What was the total for the new build?

Also for those in the know, which video cards are better for this use. I want to use a dual boot set up (via hotswap). One for video and one for audio so I want a solid middle of the road video card.
not sure...had more on invoice than just parts listed. links will provide you costs tho...

in the early days HAL size was the concern. in these days with access to so much ram HAL size becomes less important thus the size ram on the card is a non-issue. these days it's...get the card you want...
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5013  
Old 11-20-2012, 04:00 PM
Doven Doven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 23
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Are you saying that any vid card should work without problems? What does HAL refer too.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5014  
Old 11-20-2012, 04:32 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doven View Post
Are you saying that any vid card should work without problems? What does HAL refer too.

Thanks.
not quite what i said but the things that made us choose cards with a small ram foot print are no longer a concern. i have no idea what cards PT users are chosin' these days...sorry. HAL = hardware abstraction layer...builds your hardware footprint in ram for bios access.
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5015  
Old 11-20-2012, 06:33 PM
Doven Doven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 23
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Let's say you wanted a decent vid card for video editing and some middle of the road gaming, what would you pop in there that would behave for protools/reaper.
Reply With Quote
  #5016  
Old 11-20-2012, 06:34 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,781
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doven View Post
Also, has anyone here set up hotswap bays/drives before on these builds? If so what is your experience?
I use an IcyDock removable bay for my C: drive and its a dream. I wouldn't do it any other way. I still have multiple partitions per drive but keep a working backup drive, a drive I test software and such and before it goes to my working drive and then my working drive. I have had no issues w it the last few years.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #5017  
Old 11-20-2012, 07:04 PM
CME CME is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doven View Post
Let's say you wanted a decent vid card for video editing and some middle of the road gaming, what would you pop in there that would behave for protools/reaper.
I think what he's saying is essentially, any card that meets your cost/performance/quietness/video editing/gaming needs will probably work fine in pro tools/reaper. It used to be best to use one with as little ram as possible. Because windows "matched" the amount of ram used by the video card and allocated it to where pro tools couldn't use it. So smaller was better. These days it's not as much of, if even, an issue.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #5018  
Old 11-20-2012, 07:05 PM
Doven Doven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 23
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Thanks for that.

I am guessing one could use a few. One for swapping os. One for swapping samples. One for swapping recorded material.

So in your experience this is the go to swap drive?


Any advice on a decent midline video card?
Reply With Quote
  #5019  
Old 11-21-2012, 12:39 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,781
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doven View Post
Thanks for that.

I am guessing one could use a few. One for swapping os. One for swapping samples. One for swapping recorded material.

So in your experience this is the go to swap drive?


Any advice on a decent midline video card?
OS swap is the only one i need. i keep my working drive backed up and have clones of my samples drives so no need to swap any of them.

i would just go back through some of these working builds for a vid card. they change so often and so fast its hard to keep up with them
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #5020  
Old 11-21-2012, 11:34 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,863
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

I run Kingston SATA cages in my machines(for all drives). Its just too convenient to be able to pop drives out at any time. Also, as long as AHCI is selected in BIOS, you can hot-swap if you need to(so you might dedicate a drive for a returning client). Swapping system drives is another handy thing as I keep a clone of the current, as well as the previous working configuration, just in case(a studio for hire cannot afford downtime) I even keep one of those BlacX boxes on the desktop and use that for cloning and to save/retrieve downloads, updates and installers
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2416 02-19-2013 08:49 PM
new to pc builds chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-18-2011 08:10 PM
any p45 builds fofif5792 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 01:47 PM
OSX "builds" Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-18-2004 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com