Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2006, 01:33 PM
Nard's Avatar
Nard Nard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 15
Default Plug-in Delay Compensation

Will Pro Tools LE ever come with Automatic Delay (Latency) Compensation for plug-ins (PDC or ADC?) ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2006, 04:22 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

It already does...sort of...

As far as full compensation, so people can use thrid party DSP solutions...well...I would think they would if they developed their OWN brand of DSP solution that is similar. NOT like TDM, but rather just a simple DSP card. But I dont think there would be any $$$ in that, so probably not...
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2006, 08:39 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

nikki - sort of?
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2006, 09:27 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,624
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

This page has a link to info on how ADC works on LE systems:

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...54&itemid=5143
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2006, 11:55 AM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

I was looking for this the other day!
Actually, it was a post made some time ago about delay comp in LE (pre - MP I think?)

Anyway...
There are some things missing from the paper IMO. For instance:
How is the delay computed that is being reported via Command + Click on vol/pk/dly field til displaying the delay amount? Common thinking is that the plugins themselves report the delay. If so, when plug-ins do not report their own delay properly, this method being used would fail, obviously.

I did a test; I created a new session with a 64 HW Buffer, @ 24/44.1k, and created 2 Audio tracks. On the first, I placed some audio with a nice intial transient. I then set the routing so that the Output of that Audio track was a mono Buss. I then set the INput of the second Audio track to that same mono Buss. Rec enable trck 2, and record. The recorded material is sample accurate to where it was on the first track. I then stuck Dverb on track one, and observed a *reported* delay via vol/pk/dly field of 0. Repeat record, and once again, sample accurate line-up of both waveforms. Sigh of relief, and now insert Smack. Now there is a delay of 1 sample showing in the vol/pk/dly field. However, when I record this to track 2, instead of the resulting recorded bit on track 2 being 1 sample late, it is in fact aligned perfectly. Why? (I might have simply pulled a complete brain fart here...)

Finally, just to clarify...
If the vol/pk/dly field is showing ANY value other than 0, this is due to a plugin on that track presenting a latency/delay that exceeds the current HW Buffer, correct? Or is this the actual amount of delay the plugin will incur?

The white paper states it is the amount of exceeding HW Buffer, however...if I use the previous example, with Smack instantiated on a track, and with an HW Buffer of 64, and see a reported 1 sample delay, why does it remain the same irregardless of changing the HW Buffer to a higher value?

Oh! One more! What is the amount of delay...round trip...with the various interfaces (002, Mbox, etc) @ various rates? I think this would be invaluable for those using hardware/outboard as inserts...

Sorry, but I would really love ot be able to relay info properly, and play "mythbuster" when I see inaccuracies regarding certain constant put-downs of PT LE. As such, any help is greatly appreciated!!!
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2006, 12:04 PM
NickH NickH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Henley-On-Thames, UK
Posts: 600
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

Nikki,

I think (I am not near tools at the moment) that it’s the recording part that has fixed the 1 sample on smack.

PTLE automatically compensates for the delay if you are recording the track apparently.

Try it with an AUX track that is phase inverted, & no recording, the 1 sample should be present…

Cheers



N
__________________
“It’s because you touch yourself at night... ”
System Specs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2006, 03:05 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

I'd heard of that document - but didn't really believe it could exist. I'm highly dubious of its technical accuracy with regard to plugin delay compensation.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2006, 03:55 PM
marty martin marty martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 265
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

Why? It makes a lot of sense to me.
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro Trash Can 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb RAM, Sonett xMac Pro Server, HDX 12.4, S6 M10 24 Fader, Rednet 5,1 and 4
Live: MBP 15" 2.5Ghz i7 16Gb RAM, Avid S3L, Venue 4.5.1, OS10.11.1 + PT12, UAD Apollo 8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2006, 04:16 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

It's specious. The buffer size (which all DAWS have) is what allows time for processing to occur, but the delay introduced by some plugins isn't caused by the time it takes to do the processing.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2006, 04:30 PM
marty martin marty martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 265
Default Re: Plug-in Delay Compensation

Quote:
It's specious.
I was hoping for a litle more detail there.
Have you tried the delay compensation methods described and still had problems with phasing, sample inaccuracies etc for example.
I have used these methods (ie either time adjuster or nudging) and have never had a problem, although it can be a little fiddly and time consuming.
__________________
Studio: Mac Pro Trash Can 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb RAM, Sonett xMac Pro Server, HDX 12.4, S6 M10 24 Fader, Rednet 5,1 and 4
Live: MBP 15" 2.5Ghz i7 16Gb RAM, Avid S3L, Venue 4.5.1, OS10.11.1 + PT12, UAD Apollo 8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much plug-in Delay Compensation do you use? Hear Me Shimmer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-15-2007 02:09 PM
LE delay compensation plug ins nossnevs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-14-2007 12:57 PM
Plug-in delay and compensation Purple Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 10-22-2006 04:43 AM
Plug-In Delay Compensation guitar131 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 10-31-2005 04:31 PM
Plug in Delay compensation - Do we have it or not Lizardpoint 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 10-17-2005 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com