Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2018, 03:46 PM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 522
Default Pt 2018.5

It's been awhile since an update...are we expecting something big?
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2018, 03:53 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 186
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam C View Post
It's been awhile since an update...are we expecting something big?
I'd expect long awaited bug fixes at best...
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2018, 04:45 PM
abomeerza abomeerza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 88
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Now we waiting for 2018.7
__________________
AVID HDX , Pro tools Ultimate 2018.12 , Avid C24 , Lynx Aurora 16 (n) , mac pro 12 core , Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2018, 07:17 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,674
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by abomeerza View Post
Now we waiting for 2018.7
thats correct .. by the month ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2018, 05:27 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Yes, it's been a while. So long. Two whole months without an update oh my God.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2018, 06:40 AM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 186
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismeraz View Post
Yes, it's been a while. So long. Two whole months without an update oh my God.
Thing is.. for me 2018.4 is not working well enough to run a professional session, so two whole months feels like an eternity.

Avid need to buy a copy of Studio one and Logic, and witness good coding & efficient CPU usage.. Pro Tools is in the stone age.
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2018, 05:02 PM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 522
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismeraz View Post
Yes, it's been a while. So long. Two whole months without an update oh my God.
Well, there is your first problem...since you cant count I have to disqualify your input.
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2018, 07:36 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,750
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolz View Post
Thing is.. for me 2018.4 is not working well enough to run a professional session, so two whole months feels like an eternity.

Avid need to buy a copy of Studio one and Logic, and witness good coding & efficient CPU usage.. Pro Tools is in the stone age.
Weird, I basically run the same setup as you every single day, cutting through several different sessions (big ones at times) a day with no real issues.
Maybe you have some stuff running in the background that interferes with PT, or eats up performance without you realizing?

I used every version of PT since 5.3.1 and after a terrible ride starting with 9 with a plethora of ups and downs I have never been as at peace with PT as I am now. Avid really got to work and for a change they did pretty good, imho.

Not doubting your issues, though. I just think some digging into your system might help find the issue, because it's not necessarily PT.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.4
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.5
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2018, 12:04 AM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 186
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Weird, I basically run the same setup as you every single day, cutting through several different sessions (big ones at times) a day with no real issues.
Maybe you have some stuff running in the background that interferes with PT, or eats up performance without you realizing?

I used every version of PT since 5.3.1 and after a terrible ride starting with 9 with a plethora of ups and downs I have never been as at peace with PT as I am now. Avid really got to work and for a change they did pretty good, imho.

Not doubting your issues, though. I just think some digging into your system might help find the issue, because it's not necessarily PT.
Avid replicated my issue on the qualifying Mac 5,1, you probably won't see the issue at 44.1/48, it just when you hit 96k, and 128 buffer, showing/hiding protools windows changes the CPU usage, more you hide the better it performs.

here's a video of my bug.. all is running well with the edit and mix closed down, bring them in and it's all hell https://youtu.be/z82ZrOE0Dq4
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-20-2018, 12:15 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,750
Default Re: Pt 2018.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolz View Post
Avid replicated my issue on the qualifying Mac 5,1, you probably won't see the issue at 44.1/48, it just when you hit 96k, and 128 buffer, showing/hiding protools windows changes the CPU usage, more you hide the better it performs.

here's a video of my bug.. all is running well with the edit and mix closed down, bring them in and it's all hell https://youtu.be/z82ZrOE0Dq4
True, I only work in 48k.
Good thing that Avid were able to replicate it. Let's hope they get it fixed quickly.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.4
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.5
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 10.13.5 - will PT 2018.4 or .5 work well or stay with 2018.13? blankpro Pro Tools 2018 4 07-11-2018 07:22 PM
Pro Tools 2018.3 / 2018.4 crashing when switching window configurations matthewmkb macOS 0 06-27-2018 06:33 AM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
Reverting from 2018.3 to 2018.1 jamesleonard Pro Tools 2018 11 03-12-2018 05:21 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com