Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2003, 07:35 AM
syra syra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 368
Default Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

Hi guys...if any of you have the eclipse I'd like to know what it does better compared to plugins (chorus/flange effects compared to metaflanger for example).
Can it do something plugs cannot do? Is the quality much higher? Why should I buy it?

thanks, syra
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2003, 07:58 AM
D Clarkson D Clarkson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 158
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

I don't have the Eclipse,but I have used some impulses with Soundforge on pc.
In my opinion it's really a special FX unit to make weird or ambient noises.
I wouldn't use it on every vocal mix,but it's a very nice unit indeed! [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2003, 08:08 AM
5down1up 5down1up is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 418
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

lend it a ear , its a killer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2003, 12:46 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

Eventide processors are certainly very unique to say the least. They are most known for effects such as their pitch-shifting, harmonizers, detuning, spacey effects, etc... but many don't realize just how good of a reverb and multi-effects processor their gear is as well. I used to own an H3000 years ago and actually would rent (5) of them to use solely for detuning of toms on my drum tracks (I now use a DSP4500 with an HD3). The processor in the Eclipse is 7 times that of the 3000 allowing for better code which means MORE capability. Obviously, the converters have been greatly improved as well. As a multi-effects processor, Eventide really has no competition because the sound is just so unique. It's NOT like the Lexicon v/s TC Electronic debate.... it's just different. You're going to start seeing (this year) Eventide plugins for HD starting with their vintage line of products. I don't think we're going to see Orville or Eclipse plugins for quite a LONG time, so for now the Eclipse really is a great investment. I've used it quite a few times and have sold several, ironically.... MOST of them were to HD users.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2003, 08:12 AM
tal herzberg tal herzberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 369
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

I've been beta testing Eventide's 5 new HD plugs (910, 914, Instant Flanger, Instant Phaser, Omnipressor) and I can safely say I'm blown away! These are some of the most unique, best sounding plugs I've ever heard in my life, great interfaces, class all over. They realy nailed it. I hope they'll eventually migrate their entire line to plugins format, because there's still only one Eventide.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2003, 09:54 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

I would love to see an Orville for HD! Even if they charge say $2995 for it, that saves $2,000 over the hardware and well.... no physical labor or hardware that must be paid for. Just a thought....
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2003, 04:17 PM
StainedClass StainedClass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 218
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

Speaking of a eventide vs tc debate....

Is eventide harmonizer as good or better than tc?

I have seen the tc promo whuch boasts "dosnt sound like chipmunks" Is this true or as true as eventide?
__________________
StainedClass SC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2003, 05:44 PM
Johnny Jam Johnny Jam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 118
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

The latest TC electronics vocal processors incorporates format shifting, so the vocal sounds pretty natural up to a fifth or so. Eventide is the king when it comes to micropitch shifting, but try a fifth and you will hear the chipmunks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2003, 06:10 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

Well if you're doing a re-make of the introduction to the Wizard of Oz, you're in luck The harmonization and pitch shifting in the upper end Eventide boxes are awesome, but most people are not using them to drastically shift the voice... but more of a subtle effect. I've always used the pitch-shifting in Eventide to detune guitar tracks and individual tom tracks to fatten them up.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-2003, 09:28 PM
amiller amiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 207
Default Re: Eventide Eclipse: Any good if you\'ve got plugs?

I've just started doing this, literally the other day. I can't say for certain yet, but the box is fantastic. I've been using it in my guitar rig for a little while now. I suggest you post this question to the eventide users group on their yahoo forum. Italo from Eventide will tell you everything you need to answer your question. Good luck!
__________________
PT 12.7 HDX 2/Mac OS 10.10.5
2012 Mac Pro 3.46GHZ/64GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Eventide Eclipse v4.01 - Mint Condition! jav Buy & Sell 0 11-07-2012 08:18 AM
Anyone try out the new Eventide plugs? 24-bit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-04-2003 02:50 PM
Any thoughts on Eventide Eclipse or similiar krhaarmeyer Tips & Tricks 1 05-16-2002 01:02 PM
FS: Eventide Eclipse, Mint cond!!! Dean Bohana Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-19-2001 07:34 AM
FS: Eventide Eclipse, Mint cond!!! Dean Bohana Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-18-2001 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com