Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2021, 03:42 AM
dim7 dim7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: berlin
Posts: 3
Default TDM Pcie x Thunderbolt Chassis x OSX x Windows x 4k displays (begging for help!)

Greetings

I am trying to collect some informations before I make my investment, but I am so deeply confused , and still couldn't find a knowledgable person giving me a straight instruction , therefore, I wanted to try my chance as last here on the board.

Well, I was a TDM user for many years at 2000s , but after a point I abandoned due to my applications , but these days I want to get back to the king for tracking .
In this case my problem won't be going back to old Mac Pro and old OSX but just will be just display related. I don't have problem using old systems , but I am aware that I won't be able to use a better, higher resolution display than old Cinema displays or LED display at max .
I cannot look at them anymore after retina , they make my eyes in tears .

Can somebody PLEASE elaborate the following ;

I got informed there and there that one cannot use TDM Pcie cards in a Magma or Sonnet Thunderbolt chassis on OSX system , therefore there is no way to use TDM cards on a 6,1 trashcan Mac Pro for example and you are limited to 5,1 machines (max) . Is this genuinely correct information ?

At the same time , some people stating that TDM PCIe cards in a Thunderbolt chassis will work on Windows system .

And here is my question ,

Can I get a Mac Pro 6,1 , format an SSD drive and instal Windows, and run windows with bootcamp on that 6,1 , and use Sonnet or Magma thunderbolt chassis to connect TDM PCIe cards .
And therefore I can use with LG UltraFine or equivalent display which has USB-C or Thunderbolt connection and plus TDM pcie ?

So with that way, if I need to work with pro tools hd , I can boot 6,1 Mac in windows mode , and if I don't work , I can boot 6,1 with OSX to do daily stuff ?

I will be SO SO SO thankful , if somebody give a straight answer to this .

Apart from that, if somebody have an idea how to instal a better display for a Mac Pro 5,1 , I can also consider this option forgetting about what I wrote above, but I really couldn't find out how .

I really need help about this , and I will feel lucky if somebody was in same situation that could tell me a way .

all the best
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2021, 03:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,022
Default Re: TDM Pcie x Thunderbolt Chassis x OSX x Windows x 4k displays (begging for help!)

TDM cards only run PT10.3.10 or lower, which means newest OSX you can use is 10.9.5 and there is no way you get TB working on that.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2021, 04:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,022
Default Re: TDM Pcie x Thunderbolt Chassis x OSX x Windows x 4k displays (begging for help!)

Latest supported is 10.8.5 but 10.9.5 is working unless you need to use uninstaller. Zero chance beyond that.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2021, 04:12 AM
dim7 dim7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: berlin
Posts: 3
Default Re: TDM Pcie x Thunderbolt Chassis x OSX x Windows x 4k displays (begging for help!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
TDM cards only run PT10.3.10 or lower, which means newest OSX you can use is 10.9.5 and there is no way you get TB working on that.
thank you for the reply , and what about if I use Mac Pro 6,1 and use Windows instead OSX , with thunderbolt chassis ?

will this work ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2021, 04:15 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,022
Default Re: TDM Pcie x Thunderbolt Chassis x OSX x Windows x 4k displays (begging for help!)

2013 Mac Pro originally came with 10.9 so you *may* have success with it, but nobody knows
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2021, 04:20 AM
dim7 dim7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: berlin
Posts: 3
Default Re: TDM Pcie x Thunderbolt Chassis x OSX x Windows x 4k displays (begging for help!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
2013 Mac Pro originally came with 10.9 so you *may* have success with it, but nobody knows
a black trashcan Mac Pro 6.1 or a later Mac Book Pro can also run 10.9

Somebody at sometime wrote this :

" I am up and running Pro Tools 10.3.10 HD on Windows 10 with Pro Tools TDM (Core+accel) in Thunderbolt Magma Expressbox 3t-V3 on a Macbook Pro 2019."

And that's what I need to be sure , if one can run TDM cards in a Thunderbolt chassis with Windows on a newer Mac computer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2021, 04:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,022
Default Re: TDM Pcie x Thunderbolt Chassis x OSX x Windows x 4k displays (begging for help!)

Windows is one of the things I am going to pass, sorry...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2021, 04:25 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,022
Default Re: TDM Pcie x Thunderbolt Chassis x OSX x Windows x 4k displays (begging for help!)

What I do know is I have a Mac Pro 4,1 model running 10.9.5 and the cards are working perfectly on Pt 10.3.10 -- and thunderbolt chassis should only be PCIe extension. But sadly you need to try it first, then you know. Difference between 4,1 model and 6,1 model being former was once supported for HD cards, latter was not.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCIe SSD's and HDX in Thunderbolt chassis? melodydetective Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-14-2018 01:52 AM
OWC Helios Thunderbolt PCIe Chassis Jantzen Buy & Sell 3 07-24-2013 10:10 AM
OWC now shipping PCIe to Thunderbolt chassis nst7 Pro Tools 10 5 10-23-2012 01:18 PM
Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 08-11-2012 07:01 AM
Thunderbolt PCie Expansion chassis rhumphries Post - Surround - Video 11 10-19-2011 12:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com