Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2017, 06:43 PM
dansoundmix dansoundmix is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 11
Default Really Bad Dialogue Recordiing

Hi. I usually deal with editing and mixing short form material, but every now and again, I'll mix some long form, usually in the reality show genre. Having had some experience with some really low budget reality shows of the past, I've heard and dealt with my share of poorly recorded and sounding dialogue.

Today I happen to be working on a live sit down interview style show with about 6 guests who have each been mic'd with lavs. I was warned that the audio was badly distorted at times, that the sound mixer only provided a mono mixdown and no individual tracks and no camera mic either.

So I get the AAF and also come to find there are a few places in the beginning of the show, where people's mic's weren't on at all, and in addition in some instance when 2 people are talking there is the worst distortion I have ever heard. There is almost a robotic quality to it. I've uploaded an example of it for your listening pleasure and was wondering if anyone has ever dealt with material like this before.

https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/sh...RwNVhnmnLTBBfc

Thanks,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2017, 12:45 AM
lode lode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 590
Default Re: Really Bad Dialogue Recordiing

Thats... impressive. The sound mixer was obviously on top of that! ;-)

Never heard it that bad, no. You might be able to fix some of the problems wit RX. Probably not though.
__________________
PT 10.3 & 11
Mac 2x2.26 Ghz quadcore 6 gig ram
HDX 1 via Omni
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Waves Broadcast/Production, C4 & NPP
Izotope RX, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2017, 01:00 AM
Ray JB Ray JB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 534
Default Re: Really Bad Dialogue Recordiing

Sorry that is a lost cause
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2017, 02:00 AM
Artis Artis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 72
Default Re: Really Bad Dialogue Recordiing

Wow! That sounds amazing.
This distortion doesn't sound like usual clipping. Sounds like someone have already tried to do some bad noise reduction.
Maybe try what Zynaptiq plugins can do for you, but fortunately, i must to agree with Ray JB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2017, 02:07 AM
Ray JB Ray JB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 534
Default Re: Really Bad Dialogue Recordiing

Are you sure this is the original sound? Because I deal with production dialogue every day and that does not sound like it is original stuff to me... Normal analogue distortion from the average mixer never comes in that flavour!

Unless the location sound person was using a digital mixer of some sort to produce the robot like artifacts, but again it's beyond the valley. There is so much aliasing etc it sounds like someone has had a go at trying to "do something to fix it" in post (ie: the picture editor) before it's got to you.

Can they re-export you the project but go right back to the original sound from the day?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2017, 02:28 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 813
Default Re: Really Bad Dialogue Recordiing

That is one of the weirdest things I've head happen.

It sounds like its getting "bit crushed". Possibly what ever was happening at the time was clipping the digital converters. That's my best guess.

If you open up the wave in the editor it looks fine, nothing looks squared or distorted. So its possible the problem even happened prior to the converter and was recorded as is. Was it a digital mic perhaps??

Anyway. I agree with the guys. Unfortunately the distorted parts are beyond salvation. You'd have to consider dropping it, rerecording it or doing something magical with ADR.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2017, 08:18 AM
dansoundmix dansoundmix is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 11
Default Re: Really Bad Dialogue Recordiing

Thanks for everyone's input! It was late last night and I just wanted to confirm how bad it really was. I'm not sure what or how the production mixer did get those results but obviously there were a lot of things that he didn't do correctly as well some things that you never should do. I'm curious if they paid him because he was hired apparently and not just an intern on the production.
I did land up using RX on it a ton and basically just made it a different flavor of really bad. I'm assuming they might edit out those scenes entirely.

Thanks again!

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2017, 08:36 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 926
Default Re: Really Bad Dialogue Recordiing

Sounds like the equipment and talent of the location mixer were sub-par.
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tin-Can EQ FX on Dialogue jgiannis Pro Tools 10 3 08-04-2015 07:06 AM
Best Dialogue Compressor Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 19 05-05-2010 12:24 PM
dialogue too hot? manis Post - Surround - Video 15 08-21-2007 01:54 PM
simple dialogue :-) TVPostSound General Discussion 3 03-01-2003 05:59 PM
Please Help with dialogue swpowe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-26-2003 08:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com