Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-08-2012, 09:09 AM

Default Weird noise through bass rig/PT? Grounding issue maybe?

Hi there!

I didn't quite know where to put this, so mods or admins feel free to move it if need be.

I'm a new user to Pro Tools as of two days ago. I was super excited to get it, as I've been using GarbageBand and hate it.

My rig is as follows:
iMac 21.5 inch, with 4gb RAM
MOTU 828 MK3
a BOSS LS-2 Line Selector, which goes through the following
Sansamp RPM:
EHX Big Muff Bass
Digitech Whammy

and the other half is just a Sansamp RBI on it's own.

When I have the output from the LS-2 plugged into the input of the MOTU, there's a high pitched noise, like that of an onboard soundcard from a laptop, for example. It doesn't do it, however, if the output is plugged directly into the bass. Also, it doesn't make any noise with my keyboard, which is also plugged into the MOTU as well.

So, Last night, I took the output cable, and touched it to metal peices of equipment through the chain (for example, the footswitch on the digitech whammy) even with the Whammy's power unplugged, and the noise was still there! Does that mean it's a grounding issue? So I then unplugged a patch cable from the Big Muff to the Whammy, and the noise upon contact dissapeared.