Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2001, 09:14 PM
kalasa kalasa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4
Default Optical Cable

Can any one of you help me in knowing as What is the Maximum length of the Optical cable that we would be able to get
for connecting the ADAT Bridge with my Mixer.

------------------
Kalasa
__________________
Kalasa
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2001, 12:55 AM
IOP Drummer IOP Drummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 570
Default Re: Optical Cable

Optical cables use light to transmit information. How far can you run it? What's the speed of light?? You can run them far. I would try to make the run as short as possible, but don't rearrange your gear around it.
__________________
Mike Blanchard
Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2001, 02:28 AM
kalasa kalasa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4
Default Re: Optical Cable

I may want to run the cable for around 20 Meters. It is because my Adat Bridge is in my Equipment room and my Console is 20 meters away from it.

Is the Optical cable available in lengths more than 20 meters. What is the maximum length, that the Optical cables are coming in.

------------------
Kalasa
__________________
Kalasa
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2001, 09:19 AM
supersonic C supersonic C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: dallas,TX USA
Posts: 83
Default Re: Optical Cable

Anyone at Digi got any tech specs on lightpipe distance? This is actually not as simple as data going the speed of light, going down a glass tube. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2001, 06:45 PM
ppine ppine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chandler AZ, USA
Posts: 664
Default Re: Optical Cable

http://www.hosatech.com/OPT.html



and

http://www.macmidimusic.com/hosopcab.html


[This message has been edited by ppine (edited March 05, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2001, 07:04 PM
ppine ppine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chandler AZ, USA
Posts: 664
Default Re: Optical Cable

I also found out that Radio Shack, of all places, sells a Toslink inline amplifier..

Designed to push a signal to 60 or so feet, with sompin like 4.5db of gain, which is what would be lost at that distance, give or take....

Also they sell optical couplers, to extend optical cables...use at your own risk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optical cable from my Mac Pro into my 192 I/O pmcmurt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-06-2009 03:16 AM
Optical cable Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-02-2007 11:46 AM
optical cable distortion x3rdretina 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-19-2007 12:25 PM
OPtical Cable Mic Pre roainfo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-15-2007 08:26 AM
ADAT Optical Cable Alagu Tips & Tricks 3 07-28-2001 08:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com