Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2015, 07:23 AM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 133
Default Getting started with drum triggers

Let's assume I know absolutely nothing (very safe assumption) about using drum triggers in recording. Where is a good place to go to break in to this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2015, 08:15 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,655
Default Re: Getting started with drum triggers

Since you are asking here you probably expect more specialized advice than I (or YouTube) can offer but anyway here are my 2 cents: duplicate the track, insert the trigger in the duplicate then lower the volume of the duplicate all the way down and then increase it until you are satisfied with the blend. Alternatively you can route both tracks to an aux channel for further processing.
Make sure you have delay compensation enabled!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com

Last edited by amagras; 11-10-2015 at 08:36 AM. Reason: Autocorrect
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2015, 08:55 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,899
Default Re: Getting started with drum triggers

On the off-chance you meant drum triggers, as in placing trigger sensors on a regular drum kit; they need to connect to a trigger to midi interface, as made by Ddrums and alesis, or most any old E-drum brain like a Roland TD5, 7, 9, 10, 20, etc. The brain would be connected to your system via midi cable or USB(depending on how new it is. Both work fine). Then you create a midi instrument in PT>setup>Midi>Midi studio. Call up a stereo Instrument track and insert a drum VI(like EZdrummer), put the track in record-ready and hit the drums. You SHOULD be hearing the plugin drum sounds, if the pad-note assignment is correct
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2015, 10:50 PM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 133
Default Re: Getting started with drum triggers

Aha! Wisdom and guidance shineth!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drum Triggers costas.themis The Drum Room 2 01-25-2012 04:12 PM
drum triggers?? bluesguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-17-2005 08:37 PM
drum triggers MarkPresti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-10-2005 10:30 AM
Slightly OT, drum triggers.... hornedrum 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-08-2005 03:02 AM
drum triggers and sampled drum sounds SNAPPER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-05-2000 11:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com