Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2019, 06:17 AM
Trent W. Trent W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 764
Default HD Native Thunderbolt Clarification

Hey all,

Is someone able to clarify whether the mixer is loaded into the native card with an HD native unit .. ? I’ve heard mixed answers from both avid and the community.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5|Ultimate, Focusrite 8PreX, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Quad Satellite, UAD Octo SatelliteiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2019, 06:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,092
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt Clarification

HDN is fully native as far as mixer and plugins goes, the only difference between other non-HDX systems is two DigiLink connectors which give it 64 i/o -- oh, and the box has hardware for mirroring output 1-2 to headphone outputs, but it's not mixer just mirroring whatever the mixer sends to 1-2 outputs.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2019, 08:11 AM
Trent W. Trent W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 764
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt Clarification

Thanks for the reply .. !

According to this video, starting at 2:36 - hd Native loads the mixer.

https://youtu.be/V9BfGU4q6PI

How does low latency work with it?
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5|Ultimate, Focusrite 8PreX, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Quad Satellite, UAD Octo SatelliteiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB

Last edited by Trent W.; 04-17-2019 at 08:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and Thunderbolt Cables. SoundEng1 Buy & Sell 0 10-30-2018 10:24 PM
Thunderbolt via HD Native box vs. Strictly Thunderbolt TheGrobinson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 01-29-2017 11:40 AM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 10:26 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
clarification on LLM in HD native grant howarth Pro Tools 9 1 01-31-2011 09:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com