Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2019, 03:30 AM
Logichead Logichead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 421
Default Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

I'm going to be working on someone else's system so I am bringing a bootable drive. They are on ML and PT 10, I am on Sierra and Ultimate. I suspect I will need to update the firmware of the HDX card. How will their ML / PT10 system work with updated HDX firmware?

Thanks. Best...H
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2019, 03:41 PM
Logichead Logichead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 421
Default Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

Anyone have any idea about this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2019, 06:21 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,862
Default Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

I'm reasonably sure that if a firmware update is required, and if it does not allow older releases to run, there will be a way to reverse it. Backward compatibility is the Pro Tools way.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2019, 09:41 PM
Logichead Logichead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 421
Default Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

Thanks Tom. I'm working at a new client's studio, it would really suck to update the HDX card only to have it not work with their system.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2019, 06:42 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,047
Default Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

Best to square it up with the top tech at the clients studio.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2019, 05:57 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 633
Default Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

I got a new HDX card in late 2016 and it asked me to update the firmware. I did it and haven't had any issue. At that time I ran PT10 on maverick and PT11 on yosemity.
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - PT Ultimate 2019.5 on OSX 10.13.6 (II partition) - Cubase Pro 10 - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2019, 08:13 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 977
Default Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

I think it is backwards compatible. Sometime ago a producer came to my studio and wanted to run PT 10. I was running PT 11 on a different Mac OS. I just plugged his hard drive, booted and it worked.
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2019, 03:36 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Arrow Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logichead View Post
I'm going to be working on someone else's system so I am bringing a bootable drive. They are on ML and PT 10, I am on Sierra and Ultimate. I suspect I will need to update the firmware of the HDX card. How will their ML / PT10 system work with updated HDX firmware?

Thanks. Best...H
If they want any assurance that this will work, they need to be running at least v10.3.6. That was as far back as Avid tested for backwards compatibility with HDX firmware revisions.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2019, 09:23 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 897
Default Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

I boot in Pt10 / Yosemite as well as Sierra/2018.12 without any issues.
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2019, 09:54 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,598
Default Re: Is HDX Firmware Backwards Compatible?

This is actually a really good question, since new firmware will be coming out soon with the new voices release (assuming)

Will this new firmware work as good or better than current versions?

Will Avid go back again to V10.3.6 as the baseline?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Command Firmware update backwards compatible? inky macOS 4 09-18-2014 01:48 PM
Are Firmware Updates backwards Compatible? teacherman Tips & Tricks 1 05-03-2010 09:49 AM
Is firmware backwards compatible? guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-26-2007 08:52 AM
Backwards compatible nickster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-25-2006 09:09 AM
SCC BACKWARDS COMPATIBLE nathan jenkins Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 08-07-2001 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com