Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2019, 08:23 PM
banjo71 banjo71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, IL
Posts: 199
Default never had to deal with latency issues

I guess when I started with pt 7 mpowered and the maudio interface, I started wiring everything differently, and have never had to deal with latency issues if I play it right in the pt daw. Today I have PT 12.6 and a PreSonus StudioLive AR12 USB interface. I wire it up the same and have no latency issues.


The output playback goes through the interface and out a channel on my PreSonus board I've labeled 'playback'. My mic goes from my pre73 into a comp3a and into a random channel on the PreSonus. I eq the signal a little and direct it as a monitor send and then run that monitor signal into another channel, usually no 1, where it goes into the daw. The sound a vocalist, for example will hear, is his vocal through the board (not from going to the daw and back through the playback) and the playback media that's already been recorded coming through the playback channel. When I use 'input' or 'record' buttons on the pt track, I also use the mute button in the daw. This mute keeps the signal from coming back through the playback and creating latency with the channel 1 direct output.

The only trick for me is when someone wants to punch in. I unmute that pt track so they can hear the previously recorded material, and quickly mute it while they punch in during the punch in selection, so that they don't hear latency while they sing.

So it's an extra button to click, but no latency issues!
__________________
Pro Tools 12.6.1 for Windows 10
ASUS Core i7 3770
HP Intel Core i5 Notebook
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Interface
Glyph 1TB GPT50 external drive
eSATA card

Equation F.20 condenser mic
AKG Perception 150 Mic
SM81 condenser mic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2019, 05:49 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,613
Default Re: never had to deal with latency issues

What's your buffer setting? Set it to 64 and monitor from the session(instead of the console) I've not used the Presonus, but my older setup with DIGI003 never had any latency issue as long as I did 2 things:
1-set the buffer to 64 for tracking(any modern computer should handle this within reason)

2-avoid tracking with high-latency plugins(very easy to do)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LE to HD......Whats the deal with latency? The Dougfather Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-17-2010 01:05 AM
What's the deal with MIDI latency? Starcrash MIDI 3 03-29-2008 05:39 PM
best way to deal with recording latency skylab001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 04-07-2006 11:57 AM
Best way to deal with plug-in latency. Droog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-08-2006 10:00 AM
What's the deal with the 'latency' thing?? stevegrisham 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-22-2004 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com