Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2018, 10:40 AM
TheEdster75 TheEdster75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 135
Default Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Ok, this was super easy when I was using Cakewalk back in the days, but there seems to be different ways of exporting audio for a mixing engineer who isn’t necessarily using Pro Tools.

Let’s say for arguments sake, I have 30 tracks. 10 stereo, 20 in Mono. Stereo and mono all have different panning and what not and some are 100% left and right and sone mono tracks are right down the middle. Guitar distortion effects are printed, as is bass and everything else including stringed instruments and keyboards. The works.

How do I simply export all those tracks at the same time, as they are, as I hear them, both stereo and mono with all the permitters in place into WAV files for a mixing engineer? Volume levels, panning, etc, etc..

I’ve tried YouTube, Google, I just can’t seem to find anything good on it.. if anyone knows of a good video tutorial they can recommend for that, shoot that over to me. I learn a thousand times better by seeing it done, rather than trying to read how do do something...

Thanks!




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Edward Fenley
"Either learn to endure, or hire a bodyguard." ~ Bruce Lee
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2018, 11:12 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,613
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Step 1-create a folder for each song in a handy place. This could be inside the session folder or on the desktop(my preference) or anywhere that makes sense for you.
Step 2-make all audio on every track a single audio file and have them all start at the same time stamp(consolidate to zero is pretty simple).
Step 3-open the CLIPS bin(on the right side of the screen)
Step 4-drag across and up(or down) so you highlight every audio track(they all all show as selected in the CLIPS bin)
Step 5-right-click on the CLIPS bin and choose Export Clips as Files. Choose sample rate and bit depth(matching the session is a good choice) and then choose the destination. Select the folder you made in step 1 and export.

Once finished, check the folder to see if all the clips are there(they will be if you didn't miss a step).

Last word(which should be first) BEFORE you do the export routine, rename all the consolidated clips so the next person to use these files will know exactly what each is(as in Kick in, Snare Top, LdVox, Piano, etc. There is nothing worse than receiving a batch of audio files named Audio_21_EA......
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2018, 11:31 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 260
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

What??? He doesn’t use pro tools???? Just kidding, I had to say it.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.5 Native
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2018, 12:50 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,017
Default Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Dave, while your method is exactly what I would use, the OP here wants to export post pan and volume. In essence, it sounds like he wants to export every track as a unique stem where they can be dropped into another DAW and have the exact same mix at unity. There's no simple way to do this in Pro Tools.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2018, 01:13 PM
TheEdster75 TheEdster75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 135
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
He is using Pro Tools so what did mean by that comment?

He ”Used” to run Cakewalk, Didn’t say he ”use” Cakewalk now ..


He was jokingly referring to who I would be sending WAV files to, not using Pro Tools..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Edward Fenley
"Either learn to endure, or hire a bodyguard." ~ Bruce Lee
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2018, 01:15 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,544
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEdster75 View Post
He was jokingly referring to who I would be sending WAV files to, not using Pro Tools..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hehe saw that later on the larger screen .. Iphone X was not displaying the tapTalk correctly so i deleted my post
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-26-2018, 01:15 PM
TheEdster75 TheEdster75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 135
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Dave, while your method is exactly what I would use, the OP here wants to export post pan and volume. In essence, it sounds like he wants to export every track as a unique stem where they can be dropped into another DAW and have the exact same mix at unity. There's no simple way to do this in Pro Tools.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


So how exactly would they turn out with Dave’s method? Volumes all back to 0db and all panning set back to 0?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Edward Fenley
"Either learn to endure, or hire a bodyguard." ~ Bruce Lee
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-26-2018, 01:22 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,017
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEdster75 View Post
So how exactly would they turn out with Dave’s method? Volumes all back to 0db and all panning set back to 0?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Yes. Which is typically what a mix engineer wants. I've never had one want me to apply the rough mix destructively before turning the session over.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-26-2018, 01:57 PM
TheEdster75 TheEdster75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 135
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Yes. Which is typically what a mix engineer wants. I've never had one want me to apply the rough mix destructively before turning the session over.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Ok then. Sounds like that’s the way it’s supposed to be then.. Still learning this whole process. Learn something new everyday...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Edward Fenley
"Either learn to endure, or hire a bodyguard." ~ Bruce Lee
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-26-2018, 03:44 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,129
Default Re: Exporting Audio (WAV) for a Mixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Dave, while your method is exactly what I would use, the OP here wants to export post pan and volume. In essence, it sounds like he wants to export every track as a unique stem where they can be dropped into another DAW and have the exact same mix at unity. There's no simple way to do this in Pro Tools.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Only solution is to print every track, this can be done in one pass if the track count is not too large when doubled.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com

Last edited by amagras; 12-26-2018 at 04:44 PM. Reason: Correct the Autocorrect
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 - Exporting Audio for a Mixer question TheEdster75 macOS 1 03-02-2018 07:23 PM
Eucon control over M-Audio Profire DSP Mixer/Focusrite DSP Mixer? finkbmx Artist Series 1 12-26-2010 12:11 AM
Exporting audio? yijvapar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-03-2009 04:56 AM
Exporting Audio, best way ?? shanabit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-14-2006 08:18 PM
exporting audio zook250 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-03-2005 05:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com