Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2011, 09:04 PM
dbooth dbooth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 27
Default HFS+ install does not work after update???

Hi guys, please help! Sorry for the length, but hopefully this detail level will help to solve the issue sooner rather than later...

Here's what I did to install:
I had been using PT8.0.5 LE on Win 7 pretty comfortably, even with a USB2.0 external hard drive (and a slow one at that - 5400rpm). I started having problems with aliasing audio and then it completely stopping (despite the playback scrubber still moving without any DAE errors popping up) - might be my drive on the way out? Anyway...I did complete uninstall/reinstall from 8.0.0 to 8.0.1 to 8.0.5, but what I noticed was that when I checked the support for Mac formatted drives (on the 1st install from CD), the installer would not complete at all. It would just simply hang forever, and I'm a patient guy, but it simply was not going to complete. I noticed that the Pro Tools install options blanked out (or ghosted) with a tick in the boxes when the NFS+ support option was ticked, which I thought was a bit strange. As soon as I unchecked the hfs+ support option, the Pro Tools application boxes were back to their previous 'un-ghosted' state, and the installer worked fine. I installed without connecting the M Box Mini 2 until the very last install of 8.0.5.

Strangely, I received errors on each reboot phase of each install/update when the program was doing its thing with Microsoft Register...which I ignored. Pro Tools works fine despite this.


Dual platform support:

Whilst all this installing was happening, I was reading up on HFS+ support on the net, which got me to thinking maybe I should have checked that box on the 1st install. You see, I work between home (Windows) and university (Mac) on pro tools 8/7 respectively. I'd always had issues transferring my sessions off the macs when the drive was as it was previously formatted in NTFS. It was read only on Mac - Write/Read/Record on PC. No good for bringing home my work, unless I transferred it back onto an external FAT32 or iPod or usb stick.

The problem:

I would like Mac support for my audio drive, so I can go between platforms without hassle, BUT it didn't seem like it wanted to install the HFS+ support, without causing the install to hang indefinitely. So now, running 8.0.5 LE, I tried doing what the documentation said and ran the CD install again, and because I have an updated version of PT8 it wouldn't give me an option to modify the installation to just install Mac drive support.

My questions:
1. How do you install HFS+ support after you have gone beyond the original version of 8.0.0?
2. What could be causing the install to be hanging in the first place after checking HFS+ support box?
3. Does anyone know why Pro Tools was aliasing on playback after a few seconds of clean audio and then disappearing altogether?
4. Why did the Microsoft Register errors occur?


Any support would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan
_____________

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Gigabyte P55A-UD3R
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Daniel-PC
User : Daniel

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz
Speed : 3GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Gigabyte P55A-UD3R
BIOS : Award (Phoenix) F9 05/03/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte Clarksfield/Lynnfield DMI
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-Core Registers
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 665MHz (1.33GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-12800CL9-4GBRL 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-12800CL9-4GBRL 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 (56 SM5.0 1.43GHz, 1GB, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 (56SP 7C 1.43GHz, 961.6MB)
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 (56SP 7C 1.43GHz, 961.6MB)
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 (993.4MB)

Storage Devices
WDC WD15EARS-00Z5B1 (1.5TB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ) : 1TB (C:)
TOSHIBA MK3263GSX (320GB, USB/SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 8MB Cache) : 298GB
SAMSUNG DVDWBD SH-B083L (SATA150, BD-R, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 8GB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Hard Disk (E:) : N/A
Hard Disk (C:) : 1TB (NTFS) @ WDC WD15EARS-00Z5B1 (1.5TB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ)
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 8GB (CDFS) @ SAMSUNG DVDWBD SH-B083L (SATA150, BD-R, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte P55/PM55/3400 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Audio Device : Giga-Byte P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Device : Giga-Byte 0BEBh
Audio Codec : nVidia 0012h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0012h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0012h
Serial Port(s) : 1
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte P55/PM55/3400 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 91A3h
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte IT8213 IDE Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : hp officejet 7100 series (1200x1200, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Wireless Adapter 1 : Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9

Last edited by dbooth; 10-11-2011 at 09:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2011, 05:56 PM
dbooth dbooth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 27
Smile Re: HFS+ install does not work after update???

3. Does anyone know why Pro Tools was aliasing on playback after a few seconds of clean audio and then disappearing altogether?

Solved: I played around with Playback Engine settings, but not very much and also disabled my wifi internet (and ran it direct into the pc so that I could still have internet access). This stopped all the problems I was having on playback with aliasing & disappearing audio.

Does anyone know the answer to Q1?

How do you install HFS+ support after you have gone beyond the original version of 8.0.0?

This is a weird one, haven't been able to find any info on it in these forums...anyone??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2011, 07:55 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,901
Default Re: HFS+ install does not work after update???

I'm not aware of any stand alone app that installs HFS support in PT. However if someone knows otherwise I'm sure they'll set the record straight.

I suspect you'll have to uninstall -re-install PT. There was issues with some PT8 installer disks being corrupted so that may be the cause of hanging on installation. Use the uninstall app on the installer disk rather than using the windows programs and features utility in control panel. I find it beneficial to run a registry cleaner after a PT un-installation. Are you using a disk or a download version of PT8?

I would be inclined to contact Avid customer service and tell them of the problem and request a downloadable copy of PT to be deposited into your Avid account (if you haven't got one, create one here; https://account.avid.com/index.cfm?a...create.prompt& ). Ask for the latest PT8 'full installer', 8.03 or 8.04 if I remember correctly.

Otherwise wait & see if someone knows of a stand alone HFS installer.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2011, 03:24 PM
dbooth dbooth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 27
Smile Re: HFS+ install does not work after update???

Thanks zedhed,

I have the CD version, didn't know there was a downloadable version.

I'll get in touch with Digavidesign and request to download it.

What registry cleaners do you recommend - also, do you just search for everything digidesign and avid related in registry and delete?

Cheers,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2011, 05:59 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,901
Default Re: HFS+ install does not work after update???

I use Auslogics Registry Cleaner. If you use the Uninstall utility app that is on the installation disk you shouldn't need to go near the registry. Unless you know what you are doing you can render your system unstable or even unusable hence the reason for using a registry cleaner.

I also run the cleaner once a week. In my experience with all versions of windows, the registry becomes corrupted over a period of time causing the whole system to slow down and become rather sluggish.

Don't forget that when you run an updater, say from 8.04 to 8.05, you do not uninstall the previous version. Just run the updater then make sure you update your hardware drivers for that version.

In case you need them 8.05 drivers are here;
http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...3=1450&Hilite=
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2011, 06:12 PM
browniespeaks browniespeaks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 778
Default Re: HFS+ install does not work after update???

macdrive suplies the HFS+ support that pro tools uses. I have had issues having both the stand alone mac drive and the Avid free version installed at the same time. In all cases installing PT9 on a machine with macdrive invalidated the context click menu in explorer and it had to be manually fixed. They have a new version that avid is not using yet. I asked them for a changlog and they declined to give me one so i will keep my group licence for Macdrive 8 and upgrade when they can tell me whats different. I have had some trouble with long writes on systems with macdrive 8 using both PT and Reaper.
__________________
Clifford Brown III
Brown Audio Solutions & Services
www.brownaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2011, 06:51 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,901
Default Re: HFS+ install does not work after update???

Also forgot to mention, right click PT install exe and run as administrator and also disable anti virus software when installing PT.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.2 update install schwartz37 Pro Tools 10 9 06-20-2012 06:18 PM
Can´t install PT9.0.5 update!!! pascalcb Windows 10 08-31-2011 06:58 AM
PT8 cs3 Update Won't Install akakpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-15-2009 07:46 AM
Update Will Not Install - PT does not see itself? KathyLaBonte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-30-2007 10:20 PM
Should i install the 6.7r2 update? jpace82 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-13-2005 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com