Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2019, 10:40 PM
whsi whsi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Changchun, China
Posts: 12
Default Virtual Instrument cause Duet input latency soar

Hi,

I have been using duet for 3 years.

But the input latency increases sharply just after I load some virtual instrument.

Both input and output latency of buffer size of 64 is about 3.0X ms.

After loading only one virtual instrument, especially sampler with some memory load, the input latency jump to over 7ms. The most extreme time it is higher than 14ms. But the output latency remains 3ms.

This is not caused by lack of memory. I am using the same pc, and the same VIs.

I have tried to reinstall all the versions of drivers, and update the firmware with no success to solve the issue.

Please help me.

Thanks

PS: my memory is 32GB, and os is Windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2019, 11:28 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,539
Default Re: Virtual Instrument cause Duet input latency soar

Need more info here.

What plugins are causing these issues?
What hard drives and what PT version?

The more info the easier to assist.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2019, 06:22 AM
whsi whsi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Changchun, China
Posts: 12
Default Re: Virtual Instrument cause Duet input latency soar

The pt version is 12.
The VIs I notice the issue include vsl synchron piano, garrtian libraries, and kontakt libraries.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2019, 07:49 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,539
Default Re: Virtual Instrument cause Duet input latency soar

Please re-read my post if you want us to be able to assist.

Where are your sample libraries located?
How many drives do you have?
Models (SSD/spinners) ??
Speed of drives if spinners?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2019, 09:58 AM
whsi whsi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Changchun, China
Posts: 12
Default Re: Virtual Instrument cause Duet input latency soar

Thank you for your reply.

cpu: i7 4790k

mem: 32g

Libraries are in samsung 950 pro, m2 version, 1.6gb/s reading measured by samsung ssd tool.

There is another raid 0 drive, used to store project files.

Sorry for my English.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2019, 10:20 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,539
Default Re: Virtual Instrument cause Duet input latency soar

Your English is great so no worries there

I would guess that the plugins you posted are a bit of CPU hogs and need a larger buffer size. Also I never ever look at those cpu meters as it doesn’t do anything for us unless there is a huge issue that make me think of a bad plugin.

Have you double checked ALL the plugins as if you have old versions and or a few bad demo plugins even if not used at all can cause havoc on the CPU.

I would drag all of them to the unused folder and then put them back a few at a time and test the session before adding the next batch.

Also make sure you trashed preferences and databases and let PT re-read all the plugins again AFTER you done the look thru all the plugins making sure they are all 100% updated and demos thrown away.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 12.8.2 Virtual Instrument latency Ed@bersey.com macOS 6 12-06-2017 07:59 PM
Virtual instrument latency -- not! DAWgEAR Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 2 06-14-2013 10:48 AM
Virtual instrument latency problems!!!!! ScottFB Virtual Instruments 6 07-23-2007 09:22 AM
Low latency monitoring with virtual instrument... gitan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-03-2005 08:43 PM
virtual instrument latency joelsimone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-18-2002 08:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com