Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2013, 07:38 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 194
Default What should I do (license)

Hey,

Here is a quick synopsis of my problem...
Running PT 10 on a mac pro.
Bought PT 9 from Studica so get free upgrades for 3/4 years.

My license on ilok 1 for PT 9 and 10 has just expired. (ilok app says 'Surrendered from all locations' & 'locked group')

I have a license for PT 10 & 11, but it only works on ilok2, so can't run PT right now as I don't have an ilok 2.
Surely I should be able to get something working on ilok1, I shouldn't have to purchase an ilok2 right now?

Who do I speak to, Avid, Studica or ilok?
I need to get working asap, thanks in advance for the advice...

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2013, 08:01 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: What should I do (license)

This sounds odd.
Is the 11 an upgrade or a clean purchase?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2013, 08:05 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 194
Default Re: What should I do (license)

Upgrade.
Well, seeing as I get 'free updates' with my original purchase from Studica, then I got sent the PT 10 & 11 free of charge from Digi. I just can't use that because I have no ilok2.
I am guessing the old PT 9 &10 license had a time limit on it as they sent another. Doesn't help me though, as I have no ilok 2 to use it with.
Help!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot.jpg (14.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2013, 08:07 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 194
Default Re: What should I do (license)

New screenshot which shows a little more hopefully!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot.jpg (70.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2013, 08:19 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: What should I do (license)

OK, 11 required the surrender of your 9/10 licence. Sounds like ilok has deemed your 9 forfeit already.
Avid is who you need to contact but you need to get yourself an ilok2, there are some deals on them.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2013, 08:19 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: What should I do (license)

I think getting an ilok 2 is you're only solution. You don't have a pt9/10 license anymore. It was surrendered. It's just showing there because you used to have one. Maybe someone else will have an answer but I'm pretty sure an ilok 2 is your only hope.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2013, 08:20 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: What should I do (license)

I believe the upgrade to PT 10/11 involves surrender of the old PT license. Hence it shows as expired.

Unfortunately, the 10/11 license is bundled i.e cannot be separated so, yes, you now need to purchase ilok2 as that is the min requirement for your current license.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2013, 08:35 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,165
Default Re: What should I do (license)

As a student with the now retired student upgrade-program, you had to have grabbed the 10/11 upgrade, registered and the went to iLok and surrendered.

None of this is automated and now your in a bind (if I understand your post) and in need of an iLok2.

Yes, It's time to get an iLok 2 and to note for future upgrades to read the readme files and software spec's which would have alerted you this iLok2 need.

This should cost around 25-$40us. Some plug-in makers offer free iLoks with their products.
but overall this would cost more upfront.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2019.12 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2013, 08:53 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 194
Default Re: What should I do (license)

Thanks for all the help!
I hate 'having' to upgrade hardware, it should always be the user's choice, even if it is only £30 ish.
ilok 2 here I come, but means I cant work til I get my hands on one. Meh.

Thanks again people, not had to use this board in a long time, good to see it's still as great as it was back in the day...

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2013, 07:20 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: What should I do (license)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hornedrum View Post
Thanks for all the help!
I hate 'having' to upgrade hardware, it should always be the user's choice, even if it is only £30 ish.
ilok 2 here I come, but means I cant work til I get my hands on one. Meh.

Thanks again people, not had to use this board in a long time, good to see it's still as great as it was back in the day...

Cheers
I replied to your message with a temporary solution that should get you going again until you are able to get an iLok 2. Apologies for not seeing it earlier today, had a bunch of stuff going on.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
License problems with iLok License Manager musicman691 General Discussion 261 03-04-2015 12:05 PM
Can not download Pro Tools 11 license to my iLok2 -incomplete license surrender issue StereoZzilla Pro Tools 11 10 01-05-2014 12:11 AM
iLok License Manager - LICENSE TRANSFER ERROR MESSAGE jzacks524 General Discussion 6 06-26-2013 06:43 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 08:22 AM
NO iLok License Card with GSM format license chip willy wonka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-19-2007 11:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com