Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2007, 07:24 AM
scidef scidef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default Please HELP!!! need to move my PT plug ins folder!

Hello

Reallly need some help!

I have just done a really complicated reformat of my CPU and have set up many partitions and need to move my plug ins folder or set up an additonal folder to scan for my RTAS plug ins.

It installed (without letting me choose) to C:\program files\commmon files\digidesign and I need to either move to D: Drive or set up another folder to scan for plug ins on start up.

I cant have my plug ins on my C Drive and will need to resize all my partitions and will generate a lot of problems if I cant move.

I cant find an option anywhere in the docs or software to change this. Its so easy to do on every other program I use. I have also tried old school methods like creating alias shortcuts like in Logic!!!

PLLLLEAASE HELP!

Hopefully I am just being thick!

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2007, 08:54 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Please HELP!!! need to move my PT plug ins fol

What you are attempting is definitely NOT recommended. It is recommended that Pro Tools, and all of it's plugins and peripheral programs be installed to the system drive.

Doing otherwise will (not can, will) cause Pro Tools not to function properly.


I don't really understand why you would do this or want to do this. There is no real advantage to doing so. I could understand installing the sample libraries of some plugins to another drive (I do that myself), but there is no advantage at all to installing the plugins themselves elsewhere.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2007, 09:29 AM
scidef scidef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Please HELP!!! need to move my PT plug ins fol

Quote:
What you are attempting is definitely NOT recommended. It is recommended that Pro Tools, and all of it's plugins and peripheral programs be installed to the system drive.

Doing otherwise will (not can, will) cause Pro Tools not to function properly.


I don't really understand why you would do this or want to do this. There is no real advantage to doing so. I could understand installing the sample libraries of some plugins to another drive (I do that myself), but there is no advantage at all to installing the plugins themselves elsewhere.
Thanks for your advice.

I am tring to install only windows on one partition and all apps and plug ins on a different partition to increase stability. I have only a 10GB partition for system and intend on installing many plug ins I also test many out demos etc. and uninstall this has caused me probs in the past.

Would this advice also extend to the VST to RTAS adapter?

Thanks again.

S


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2007, 10:07 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Please HELP!!! need to move my PT plug ins fol

Pro Tools, all plugs and the VST adapter should be installed in their default locations on the C: system drive.
As spkguitar has said, sample libraries used by plugs can be installed on a separate drive to increase performance.
And of course, your PT session files should be located on a separate drive. But the applications need to be installed to the system drive.

For what it's worth, separate partitions of the same drive do not increase performance. It is even possible it will increase the workload of the single drive under some circumstances.
In other words, a partitioned single drive does not have the performance advantage of actual separate drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug-ins problem - Move Unauthorized Plug-ins [SOLVED] HBHH macOS 4 10-03-2013 05:26 PM
Problem with Strike 1.5-Pro tools 10 wants to move Strike.dpm to unused folder. We live forever Virtual Instruments 55 09-17-2012 07:02 PM
Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder??? nod25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-26-2009 04:43 PM
plug-ins folder / not finding plug-in BFD IVcrane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-27-2005 07:25 AM
Putting TDM plug-Ins in LE Plug-In Folder? flymax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-07-2001 02:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com