Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2019, 09:58 AM
Big Cloud Big Cloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: liverpool
Posts: 16
Default Future updates Question.

Hi, long time Cubase user here who has to use Pro Tools (v. 2019.6, Windows 10) from time to time.
Just updated my PT to 2019.6 and got myself a physical iLok, everything is working OK, only thing I notice that's detrimental compared to Cubase is..

Pro Tools seems much more Ram hungry than Cubase. I've got 16gb RAM and I'm going to upgrade to 32 in the next few days, but running the same session in both CB and PT is a very different experience. I've had a few memory crashes in PT and the ram meter has hit 100% a couple of times (cache set to normal and video engine is off) . The same session with the same Vi's runs perfectly smoothly in Cubase on the same machine.

Midi drum maps. Programming a midi beat in Protools is way more fiddly when you can't load a drum map. Finding the different drum articulations on your keyboard just takes longer in PT.

Apologies if this has been covered a million times before, but I'm not really part of the Avid community, so my question is, are these known issues that are likely to be rectified in future updates, or do most not have these issues?
__________________
PC / Win 10 / Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 / Pro Tools 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2019, 08:04 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 713
Default Re: Future updates Question.

First, make sure to do ALL the optimization listed at AVID for your OS. Second, set ram cache about the size of your session audio files plus a bit-"Normal" actually means "off" in this case. Third go to the help us help you section and get a Sandra. Fourth , do the plug in tests outlined in many threads here as it sounds like a possible corrupt plugin or file issue-not ProTools specific necessarily, just affecting PT for whatever reason(such as AAX plugin difference from VST)
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 2019.6 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2019, 09:03 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,132
Default Re: Future updates Question.

Many PT users sequence in Cubase or Logic and mix in Pro Tools. Others use VE Pro to host virtual instruments.

For optimizations suggestions beyond Avid's look here.

And always remember, AVID is DIVA spelled backwards.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2019, 09:08 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,820
Default Re: Future updates Question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
AVID is DIVA spelled backwards.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2019, 04:12 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,522
Default Re: Future updates Question.

And here's a link to a fellow that's been around for ages with Windows optimizations - Black Viper http://www.blackviper.com/
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I already own 11 HD - what to do about future updates? [solved] PhattBastard Pro Tools 11 3 12-30-2014 09:58 AM
MP9 future updates for Win8 laetidjey Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 04-08-2013 12:29 PM
Future Software Updates? Final Lap Guy Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 14 10-04-2012 03:31 PM
suggestions for future PT updates EricWillhelm General Discussion 3 08-25-2007 08:20 AM
digi 001. will protools 7 and future updates work? wreckthisplace 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-20-2005 04:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com