Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-14-2011, 12:08 PM

Default If i buy a new MBP can i install snow leopard?

Unfortunately the lion update came out before i could purchase a MBP,I was wondering if i bought a factory copy of snow leopard would i be able to install it on it's own partition or would it install over lion?
I am new to mac's so excuse me for being green to mac's.
The main thing i would like to do is buy a new MBP and run it with snow leopard not with lion.Is that possible? Thank you for any help!
Old 07-14-2011, 12:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Sun Studio's View Post
Unfortunately the lion update came out before i could purchase a MBP,I was wondering if i bought a factory copy of snow leopard would i be able to install it on it's own partition or would it install over lion?
I am new to mac's so excuse me for being green to mac's.
The main thing i would like to do is buy a new MBP and run it with snow leopard not with lion.Is that possible? Thank you for any help!
The latest MacBook Pros came with a special build of Snow Leopard. You'd need to find someone with the latest MBP, install Snow Leopard from that DVD and then run Software Update to get latest patches.
Old 07-14-2011, 12:56 PM

Default Re: If i buy a new MBP can i install snow leopard?

Usually with a Mac, you can't run a previous version of the OS. So if the computer ships with Lion, you can't run SL. However, it has been suggested that there will be a four week delay until all the SL computers are out of the supply chain.

Don't delay.
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,