Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2017, 06:46 AM
Peters86 Peters86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NL
Posts: 20
Default Analog hardware latency

Hello guys,

I guess this question has been asked a thousand times before but I can't seem to find a definitive answer!

I use PT 12 Native on OSX with an Apogee Ensemble Firewire for recording and mixing. I have a Warm Audio WA2A and EQP-WA I use for mixing, I don't use plugins for this. Now, when mixing, I send the track signal through output 5 --> compressor --> EQ --> input 5 by using the i/o plugin on the track. I then Bounce the track in realtime to a new track and click "hide and make inactive" on the existing unprocessed track.

My question: do I have to compensate for latency when doing this? I use a relatively low buffer setting (64 samples) and I never hear any phase issues or noticeable delays of the signal when doing this (for instance when sending out and mixing seperate drum tracks). But something tells me a latency/delay is induced by routing the signal like this and that I should compensate for it.

Thank you guys very much.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2017, 07:21 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,596
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

What does it look like when compared side by side to the original ?

Before you hide and make inactive look at the wave forms.....

I bet the delayed samples are minuscule but you should check it.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2017, 07:29 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

Regular PT (unlike HD with Avid's hardware) has no idea about the delays induced by 3rd party converters.

It's easy to test and plug in the delay amount in the I/O setup.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2017, 07:44 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

There will be inherent latency in the Apogee, as it takes a small amount of time to convert the digital audio to analogue on the way out, and to convert the analogue signal to digital on the way back in (usually a different amount of time for each process).

You can measure the total time by drawing a 1 sample spike on an audio track, and recording it to another track by sending the signal out of one set of hardware outputs, and back in to another set of inputs - physically connecting them with patch leads.

With Pro Tools in slip mode, and the timeline set to samples, select from the start of the 1 sample spike on the source track, to the start of the 1 sample spike on the record track.

The counter will display the total number of samples selected, which is the total latency for combined input & output.

Now repeat the experiment with your external hardware units in the chain.

You can then input the figure in to the nudge value, and whenever you record a hardware insert, select the recording, and nudge it back.

You can also look at the I/O setup page, and once you have zeroed the value in, put it in the hardware compensation field, to have PT do it automatically.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2017, 02:19 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,674
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
There will be inherent latency in the Apogee, as it takes a small amount of time to convert the digital audio to analogue on the way out, and to convert the analogue signal to digital on the way back in (usually a different amount of time for each process).

You can measure the total time by drawing a 1 sample spike on an audio track, and recording it to another track by sending the signal out of one set of hardware outputs, and back in to another set of inputs - physically connecting them with patch leads.

With Pro Tools in slip mode, and the timeline set to samples, select from the start of the 1 sample spike on the source track, to the start of the 1 sample spike on the record track.

The counter will display the total number of samples selected, which is the total latency for combined input & output.

Now repeat the experiment with your external hardware units in the chain.

You can then input the figure in to the nudge value, and whenever you record a hardware insert, select the recording, and nudge it back.

You can also look at the I/O setup page, and once you have zeroed the value in, put it in the hardware compensation field, to have PT do it automatically.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
just to add to carls great description ..i use Grid Mode in Samples View set to 1 sample .. it will not go any lower than this anyway ... easier to count the samples .. and set as carl says to sample in the main timeline ..

i go through this on every new version of pro tools .. seems like things change each time, so do not be afraid to check each time .. set up a session ready to go and test .. !!! and i do it for each sample rate ... 44,48,88,96, etc ..

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2017, 11:25 PM
Peters86 Peters86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NL
Posts: 20
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

Thanks a lot guys. That was the answer I was looking for. Perfect!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2017, 05:55 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 320
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

Of course, it's perfectly correct that you need to figure out the latency for a round trip through the converters.

I would add that you don't need to bother trying to figure out the latency for a hardware unit like an EQ or a compressor. You need to compensate only for the converters, so once you figure out that latency, you can use the same value for all your other outboard hardware.
__________________
Windows 10
Apollo 8
Pro Tools Native
i7 8700K, 32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2017, 06:55 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

Indeed, provided it's an entirely analogue device - if it's a multi-effects unit, or digital delay etc, there's going to be an ADC / DAC round trip in the device, in addition to the Apogee (or any) converter.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2017, 07:05 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
Indeed, provided it's an entirely analogue device - if it's a multi-effects unit, or digital delay etc, there's going to be an ADC / DAC round trip in the device, in addition to the Apogee (or any) converter.
This delay is not compensated for in analog recording chains. Chalk up any delay in the effect unit itself as the device's 'character'. When I calculate converter delay I use a loopback rather than having a device inline.
__________________
PT 2019.5 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1903)
PT 2019.5 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 (end of the OS road for the 2011 Mini)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2017, 09:48 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: Analog hardware latency

True, but there are all sorts of things we couldn't do in the analogue days, that we now can in the digital age, so it makes sense to take advantage of improvements.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to compensate for analog summing mixer hardware latency? ryanstewartguitar Pro Tools 10 9 04-30-2016 10:55 PM
Analog Latency and Delay Compensation wedge Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 12-23-2011 12:15 PM
using all analog outputs in low latency stainless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-20-2010 10:56 AM
Latency: Optical in vs. Analog in Larold 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-24-2007 05:31 PM
002 Low Latency Mode only on analog outs? Blake Eiseman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-06-2003 03:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com