Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2015, 10:30 PM
pasanta pasanta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 582
Default iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

There's got to be a way around this that I'm just not thinking of right now in frustration.......my internet is out. I don't foresee it getting repaired for a couple of days since it's the weekend. When I start Pro Tools, I get a warning from the iLok Manager that the "clock needs repair". I assume this is because it was set to automatic in the system preferences. I disabled that setting......but even after restarting, I can't get past this iLok warning. There's nothing wrong with the clock or date; both are correct. This is on my main MacPro tower. I've used Pro Tools on location on my laptop before with no clock/internet problems. So what's different about this and how do I make it stop? Thanks......
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2015, 02:23 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

try setting time manually ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2015, 05:40 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,646
Default Re: iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by pasanta View Post
There's got to be a way around this that I'm just not thinking of right now in frustration.......my internet is out. I don't foresee it getting repaired for a couple of days since it's the weekend. When I start Pro Tools, I get a warning from the iLok Manager that the "clock needs repair". I assume this is because it was set to automatic in the system preferences. I disabled that setting......but even after restarting, I can't get past this iLok warning. There's nothing wrong with the clock or date; both are correct. This is on my main MacPro tower. I've used Pro Tools on location on my laptop before with no clock/internet problems. So what's different about this and how do I make it stop? Thanks......
ILM software has nothing to do with the system clock (or it shouldn't). Any particular reason you're running the ILM software? Looking at license assets or what? No need to call up the ILM s/w otherwise. Or you have some other problem going on with your computer. Is this an older MacPro cheesegrater or the iTrashcan? It could be your computer is losing it's marbles clock-wise.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2015, 06:42 AM
pasanta pasanta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 582
Default Re: iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanos4 View Post
try setting time manually ...

I did.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2015, 06:47 AM
pasanta pasanta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 582
Default iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
ILM software has nothing to do with the system clock (or it shouldn't). Any particular reason you're running the ILM software? Looking at license assets or what? No need to call up the ILM s/w otherwise. Or you have some other problem going on with your computer. Is this an older MacPro cheesegrater or the iTrashcan? It could be your computer is losing it's marbles clock-wise.

I'm not running the ILM software. I start Pro Tools, I get the warning that says my clock needs repair, to try and reset that so the ilok will function. This is a cheese grater Mac Pro 12 core. I can't find anything to change in the clock that's not correct. I even tried changing it wrong just so I could put it right again. I guess I'll try zapping the PRAM for the heck of it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2015, 07:09 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,646
Default Re: iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by pasanta View Post
I'm not running the ILM software. I start Pro Tools, I get the warning that says my clock needs repair, to try and reset that so the ilok will function. This is a cheese grater Mac Pro 12 core. I can't find anything to change in the clock that's not correct. I even tried changing it wrong just so I could put it right again. I guess I'll try zapping the PRAM for the heck of it.
Can you post a screenshot of exactly what the error message says? As I said the clock has nothing to do with whether the iLok software runs or not. Is the blue light on on your iLok even before you start PT? It should be on after the computer finishes booting. Try reseating the iLok and see what happens.

Zapping the pram/nvram might help. Something else to try is to completely unplug your MacPro from the wall outlet for a couple of minutes so allt he capacitors in the unit discharge and then plug it back in and reboot.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2015, 09:26 AM
pasanta pasanta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 582
Default Re: iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

This morning it works fine again. When and if it shows the alert again, I'll take a picture and post it. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-30-2015, 10:12 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,646
Default Re: iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by pasanta View Post
This morning it works fine again. When and if it shows the alert again, I'll take a picture and post it. Thanks
That would be good as what you're talking about has nothing to do with the iLok. You didn't really answer the question I asked - is the blue light on on the iLok after your computer is finished booting? You may well have something flaky going on with your computer. It may not be remembering the system time for example.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2015, 11:24 AM
pasanta pasanta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 582
Default iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
That would be good as what you're talking about has nothing to do with the iLok. You didn't really answer the question I asked - is the blue light on on the iLok after your computer is finished booting? You may well have something flaky going on with your computer. It may not be remembering the system time for example.

Yes. The blue light is on. I wish I could get it to do it again to take a picture because when starting PT, the alert says that because the clock needs repair, the ilok will not work. It gives option buttons to either "retry" once the clock is fixed or "quit".
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-30-2015, 06:14 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,646
Default Re: iLok message: Clock Needs Repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by pasanta View Post
Yes. The blue light is on. I wish I could get it to do it again to take a picture because when starting PT, the alert says that because the clock needs repair, the ilok will not work. It gives option buttons to either "retry" once the clock is fixed or "quit".
I think you have some serious issues going on here. Really need to see a screenshot of the exact error message because I have a feeling there's more going on than you're telling us.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
clock error message after mp3 export queemacarthur macOS 1 10-15-2012 09:05 AM
clock error message after mp3 export queemacarthur macOS 0 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
audio clock error message veritas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-10-2006 12:40 PM
Strange message: "Clock error detected." Joemamma Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-08-2006 09:10 PM
'external clock choice is invalid' message nplmdthfan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-21-2005 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com