Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2013, 02:55 PM
blackc7's Avatar
blackc7 blackc7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 41
Default Avid Native PCIe Card

Just curious as to why do we need the Native Card? I have Peo Tools HD9 on my Mac Pro with a HD setup in the studio. I just install PT HD9 on my laptop and it opens and plays Pro Tools HD just fine. I know I need more than 4gb of ram, but the software ran the demo session with no problem. Is this the reason you see so many used Native cards on eBay?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2013, 04:02 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

The biggest reason is so that you can use the excellent quality HD interfaces, and that's the only way to hook them up.

It's also the way you get up to 64 I/O, the ability to use peripherals like Sync HD, Satellite Link, hidden software features like a meter showing how many voices you're using.

In addition, the combination of the card and HD interfaces allows for the lowest latency of any native system at any given buffer size, and full compensation for hardware inserts.


As to why they're on Ebay, that could be people buying bundles and splitting up the components to make a profit. Or people who have moved to the Thunderbolt version.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2013, 06:53 AM
P,B,S P,B,S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: themoon
Posts: 286
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

(EDIT) since I replied to a thread I should at least say something on topic.

Having high end converters is possibly the biggest sonic improvment any studio can make.
Even the difference between 192i/o vs HDi/o is astonishing.

Iv said it before I will say it again. Im not that convinced that the 192 sounded anybetter than my digi003
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am honestly considering trading in my HDX card for 2 HDN cards amd another MAC PRO. then with a sync i/o and pro tools new 64 bit plugin break though, that will be more powerfull than a hdx card could ever be.

Iv been waiting for AAX DSP plugins for 18 months.
What we did finnallly manage to get we dont have at all.
I think HDN native plugs will be plentyfull quickly
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:01 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,110
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by P,B,S View Post
I am honestly considering trading in my HDX card for 2 HDN cards amd another MAC PRO
...and lose HEAT?

NOOOOOOOO
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:11 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,546
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

What does 2 HD Native cards give you? Are they both even recognized?

Never heard of this.

BTW, I agree HDX is only for super post guys IMO.

And HEAT is a one dimensional, transient squashing, sledge hammer IMO. I'd rather have VCC, VTM, my UA stuff, Phoenix II, etc, and be able to customize everything.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,110
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
What does 2 HD Native cards give you? Are they both even recognized?
I think he meant having two systems sync'd
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:25 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,546
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I think he meant having two systems sync'd
Oh. For those 512 track music productions?!!?!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,110
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Oh. For those 512 track music productions?!!?!
Oh, no. For those productions where every single track uses all 10 insert slots and 10 sends

(Sorry about the joke, couldn't resist...)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2013, 04:21 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,855
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by P,B,S View Post
(EDIT) since I replied to a thread I should at least say something on topic.

Having high end converters is possibly the biggest sonic improvment any studio can make.
Even the difference between 192i/o vs HDi/o is astonishing.
Scientific blind test with the best ears in the industry would disagree with you.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-2013, 04:38 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: Avid Native PCIe Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
As to why they're on Ebay, that could be people buying bundles and splitting up the components to make a profit.
Maybe this should read - get some of their money back and not making a profit
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVID HD NATIVE PCIe CORE CARD CHEAP!!! Killbert Buy & Sell 0 01-09-2014 07:44 AM
HD Native PCIe card--which slot bakedbeansrecord Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-29-2013 07:52 AM
Native Card Pcie and 96 i/0 $1200 dvodesilva Buy & Sell 0 08-27-2013 09:09 PM
AVID HD Native Card with ProTools HD9 Auth and Magma PCIe Chassis - $1500 UnkleMik Buy & Sell 2 06-03-2013 05:14 AM
PT HD Native or PT9 with PCIE card jcolagross Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 04-28-2011 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com