Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-04-2011, 06:23 PM

Default PT9 Saves a Session Copy in my Mac HD after I move a Session

I'm having a weird problem with PT9. I will try to describe the symptoms, hopefully someone knows or has seen what I'm experiencing. I will mention I have PT training from some time at an audio school and about 7 years experience with the software.

I'm a bit of song writer, so most of my personal sessions start on the desktop while I begin to build them into worthwhile projects. Once the session has taken shape and matured a bit (usually 10-15 tracks with plugs and a bunch of edits and playlists... not important really) I move it to folder alongside similar musical ideas. This has been my method of file management with PT for years.

When I updated to PT 9 something weird started. After I move the session to a sub folder on my "Audio drive", when I reopen the session (either from the recent sessions drop down or directly from the file) a folder of the same name appears directly under the Macintosh HD drive (next to "Applications" and "Users"). This folder is empty. If I record new audio or generate fade files folders appear in this bogus session directory they fill up here instead of the location from which I opened the session.