Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2000, 03:26 PM
wildbill01 wildbill01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 12
Default Pro Control or HUI?

Was wondering what every ones thoughts were on the HUI, i am thinking obout getting it for a second room. Or would i be better of spending the cash for Pro Control
As a user what do think?
WF
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2000, 04:50 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,547
Default Re: Pro Control or HUI?

I am a confirmed ProControl fanatic.

One important difference between the two surfaces is that HUI is midi and ProControl is ethernet. The faders on HUI are limited to the 128 values of the MIDI spec. (often it will jump in 0.3 - 0.5dB steps)The faders on ProControl can move in increments of 0.1dB which makes it much more accurate for fine tweaking of mixes. It also does not bog down your MIDI system as does HUI.

The way ProControl expands to a bigger console with faderpacks works beautifully. The future expandibility is awesome, particularly with the new surround panning EditPack unit coming out.

[This message has been edited by Tweakhead (edited October 22, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2000, 12:02 AM
PTPerson PTPerson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Down Under
Posts: 558
Default Re: Pro Control or HUI?

If you're using ProTools to mix then I would definately recommend you get a ProControl, it's alot faster, feels fantastic, looks great, can be expanded and is reliable and is fun!. HUI is OK.....I've had one.....it works OK, faders are a little unreliable,but feel really good and have 512 steps (which is a cut above small digital mixers(O2R, D8B)) also the meters a slow and no there are no future plans for expansion.

ProControl WORKS always without fail which is very important if you're working a lot and by the clock and prefer to work with equipment that works.

And automation........it can't be beaten. Automation on ProControl is simply brilliant, it's so simple!, writing and updating volume, pan, send level, send mutes and plug ins is really simple. The HUI touch sensitive faders are little unreliable here, sometimes when touching a fader to update it will lock, faders often fly out of control during automation playback and often ProTools software wouldn't respond to fader movements on the HUI.......not fun.

Get a ProControl......you'll just buy a HUI and want to get a ProControl......so get it first.



Get the ProControl.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2000, 08:04 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Pro Control or HUI?

What is there to add ..............

------------------
Chris Lambrechts
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2000, 02:00 PM
wildbill01 wildbill01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Control or HUI?

thanks guys i will keep thaqt in mind if i stay with PT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2000, 12:34 AM
agus agus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 247
Default Re: Pro Control or HUI?

Pro Control Pro Control Pro Control
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2000, 09:55 AM
NCM engineering NCM engineering is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 138
Default Re: Pro Control or HUI?

I have supported both. HUI is weak on several fronts. Procontrol is much better. HUI is cheaper for a reason. It is less of a product. I like the procontrols. I tend to keep far from MIDI when possible when sync'ing stuff. Ethernet seems to work much better.
Kelly.
__________________
Kelly Lichtenwaldt
kellylichtenwaldt@clearchannel.com
Pro Tools System administrator
KUBE FM, KBTB FM, KHHO AM, KJR AM, KFNK FM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Digidesign Control|24 and Sterling Modular Desk Console for Control 24-Separate relaxo Buy & Sell 3 09-05-2013 07:05 AM
How to control plugins applied to audio files with Artist Control ozu Artist Series 3 04-01-2013 02:36 AM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com