Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2010, 10:28 PM
trustyjim trustyjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Stop fader banks from following track focus?

I have noticed after upgrading from 7.1 HD to 8.0 HD on my Command 8 that merely clicking on a track or plugin causes the fader bank to change focus to it.

This is super annoying!!! The worst part is I can no longer use the the "Bank" button on the Command 8 to move the banks left or right. It will move for a split-second then revert back to the bank that holds the currently focused track.

The old (and desired) behaviour for me is to only have the banks move if I use the "Bank" button on the control surface or if I right click on a track and select "Scroll into view".

Does anybody know how to go back to the old behaviour?

I want my Command 8 to stop moving it's banks unless I tell it to!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2010, 09:55 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

Hi trustyjim and welcome to the DUC.
Please follow the guidelines in the 'Help us help you' link below. You're much more likely to get a helpful response if you provide computer specs, OS and Pro Tools version, etc.

Cheers,
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2010, 11:39 PM
trustyjim trustyjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

Sorry, I didn't see the link earlier...

Here are my specs:
Pentium 4 3.6Ghz single core.
Windows XP Home Edition SP3
Command 8 and Axiom Pro 25 controllers
Pro Tools HD1 8.0.3 (running on a PCI card)
2GB RAM

Hopefully this helps. I basically noticed the change in banking behaviour when I upgraded from Pro Tools HD 7.1 to 8.0, so I assumed maybe it is an option somewhere that I can turn off? I have looked everywhere in the settings menu and can't find anything that helps.

Thanks again!
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2010, 11:10 PM
trustyjim trustyjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

bump
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2010, 09:07 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

Quote:
Command 8 and Axiom Pro 25 controllers
In the Peripherals>MIDI Controllers window, how do you have the Command|8 and Axiom Pro configured?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2010, 06:10 AM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
In the Peripherals>MIDI Controllers window, how do you have the Command|8 and Axiom Pro configured?
I have the same problem as trustyjim since I've added Axiom Pro 25 in my setup.

type---------------receive from:----------send to:-----------------#ch's

Command 8------Cmnd8,prt1-------------Cmnd8,prt1-------------8

MAdKybr---------AxmP25HCI-------------AxP25HCO---------------8

Do I need to change Axiom's channel to any other or what?
__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2010, 09:35 PM
trustyjim trustyjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

You know, the behaviour might have started for me too when I added the Axiom Pro 25. I added it about the same time I upgraded to Pro Tools 8.

Here are my settings under MIDI controllers:

Type:
Command8
M-Audio Keyboard

Receive From:
USB Audio Device
Axiom Pro 25 HyperControl In

Send To:
USB Audio Device [Emulated]
Axiom Pro 25 HyperControl Out

# Ch's
8
8


The problem is that the Command 8 banks ALWAYS scroll to the track that is currently selected (i.e. when left clicking a track on my PC). I would like the old behaviour to return where you have to right click and select "Scroll into view" to get Command 8 banks to adjust.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2010, 10:00 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

Well guys - I have some bad news. Per the Command|8 Guide, I think this covers the problems you're seeing:

Quote:
• Command|8 must be the only MIDI control
surface enabled within Pro Tools. It cannot be
used in combination with other MIDI control
surfaces.
We were able to reproduce what you're seeing and could not find a workaround.

I'm in discussions with program management about possible integration of these units in future versions of Pro Tools, but that's about all I can say on the matter at this time.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2010, 11:05 AM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Well guys - I have some bad news. Per the Command|8 Guide, I think this covers the problems you're seeing:



We were able to reproduce what you're seeing and could not find a workaround.

I'm in discussions with program management about possible integration of these units in future versions of Pro Tools, but that's about all I can say on the matter at this time.
Tnx DTS.
__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:05 PM
trustyjim trustyjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Stop fader banks from following track focus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Well guys - I have some bad news. Per the Command|8 Guide, I think this covers the problems you're seeing:



We were able to reproduce what you're seeing and could not find a workaround.

I'm in discussions with program management about possible integration of these units in future versions of Pro Tools, but that's about all I can say on the matter at this time.
Yes, thanks for looking into it. Hopefully they can include some kind of support or workaround in a future Pro Tools version.

Thanks again!

Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mc Control..Fader banks on mix page hot lipps Artist Series 12 03-04-2012 11:38 PM
Focus Fader when in VCA mode? audioluche ICON & C|24 5 02-06-2012 09:56 AM
Artist Control and screen following Fader Banks poplikecrazy Artist Series 0 07-17-2011 05:21 PM
C/24 fader banks slam to bottom ? jackp ICON & C|24 0 04-07-2011 07:41 AM
Renaming Custom Fader Banks (D-Command) legasafe ICON & C|24 1 11-24-2009 02:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com