Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-30-2007, 06:19 PM

Default Post-Production budget...NEED HELP!!!

Good day folks, I am planning a Post/Music studio for a friend of mine who does video production/editing...he doesn't know much about audio and as such has given me the task to plan and purchase the studio equipment and plan the layout of the studio (he owns a fairly large, unused warehouse space)...i have been operating a small studio for about 4 years now with pro tools le (i have worked in bigger rooms but not often) but the budget i was given will allow me to upgrade to HD plus a whole lot more...anyway i would like to post the list i have put together and possibly get feedback from the more experienced post engineers here...keep in mind this studio will also be used for regular music recording/production/mixing as well as post audio editing, soundtrack production, ADR, and foley (maybe)...We also want to do our own DVD authoring (in a separate room which would also double as the surround playback/consumer home theater room) he already has Final Cut Pro Studio which has DVD authoring software but i'm not sure how powerful it is...)

thank you in advance

and now the list (we are trying to start construction by July 2008)

Mac Pro: dual 2.66 hz core2duo / 4 gb ram / 2 x 20" lcd / 250 & 2 x 500 gb hd
Glyph GT 050Q 500GB HD
Digidesign C|24 bundle w/ appropriate DB25 cables
Sync i/o or Sync HD (what's the difference?)
JL Cooper Surround panner
2 x InFocus DLP IN24+ Projector w/ Atdec Universal Projector ceiling mount
ADS Pyro A/V link
Cables To Go 4-Output RCA Audio/Video Distribution Amplifier
Focusrite ISA 428
dual FMR RNLA in funklogic rack
Roland V-Synth GT