Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2013, 03:53 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 368
Default New Project's saving to existing Project's???

I'm not asking the question right because I can't find anything in the search, manual or You Tube.

Here's what's happening.

I want to start a new Project.

I open new Session from Template. I select the Template I want. Title the new Project & open. After working on it for a while I save & close Session.

When I go back to open it somehow it's getting stored under another Song's Session?

This has happened a few times now. What am i doing wrong? How can I move the new Song to it's own Session?

Thanks,

Lars
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2013, 04:36 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

When you say "I open new Session from Template.", do you mean you open a template session, OR do you select Create New Session from a Template? For those new to this, these 2 methods are drastically different. When you create a new session, you have the option to create a blank session, or create from a template(which is what you SHOULD do). Then you save your new session to your desired recording drive, and everything you record will go where it should. Opening a template session and saving it can(and will) screw you as to where the audio gets saved, regardless of where you save the session(which, I think is what is happening to you).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2013, 01:30 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 368
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

I meant to say create new Session from Template. (Still learning the Language!)

I follow the steps you mentioned but somehow it ends up in another existing Session?

If I want to work on it at a later time I have to remember the name of the Song it stored in? Weird?

I must be doing something wrong? But what? Can I relocate the new Session?

Thanks,

Lars
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2013, 04:58 PM
GeoffLee GeoffLee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 255
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

When you create the session, in the Save dialog where you name the project, you also have to navigate to where you want the session to be created. If you don't, it could default to the session folder of the last song you were working on - sounds like that's what's been happening in your case.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2013, 10:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,424
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

and to answer your question about moving, the SAFE way to do it is to open the session and go to File>Save Session Copy, check the box for saving all audio files, and then point this session copy to your recording drive. This new copy(if done correctly) will be separate from the original, and will contain all the audio in its own audio files sub-folder.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2013, 12:49 AM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 531
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
and to answer your question about moving, the SAFE way to do it is to open the session and go to File>Save Session Copy, check the box for saving all audio files, and then point this session copy to your recording drive. This new copy(if done correctly) will be separate from the original, and will contain all the audio in its own audio files sub-folder.
If you're all mixed up and don't know which way is up, this would be the best way at this point.

But, if you're doing things right, the folder structure where the Pro Tools file (*.ptx) is located has all its folders together and is simple to move anywhere.

When creating new sessions, you should be navigating to where you want these sessions stored. I usually create a folder for a client and then save all new sessions in that folder. Within the client's folder should just be more folders of just sessions titles. Then when going into the session folder you'll see the *.ptx file(s) of the same name and the folders used for that session (Audio Files, etc.) ...
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2013, 07:25 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 368
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

I can't seem to unravel the problem with that Template. I made a new one & so far it's working fine.

Will try to figure out what I'm doing wrong. Thank for your feedback.

Lars
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2015, 06:56 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 368
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

Update….

I've figured out how to prevent New Song Projects from getting save with existing Songs Projects.

Now I'm trying to figure out how to get the Song Projects that got saved in other Song Projects & save them as their own individual Song Project.

I've looked in Manual & You tubes. As usual i'm probably not asking the right question so I can't find the answers. I'm sure they are there though.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Lucky
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2015, 05:17 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,561
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

See this thread for a few solutions.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=365724
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2015, 02:29 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 368
Default Re: New Project's saving to existing Project's???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
See this thread for a few solutions.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=365724
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving into an existing folder seanmccoy Pro Tools 10 1 02-04-2014 11:06 AM
PT 10 & 11 and my existing software shaun311 Pro Tools 10 1 06-22-2013 07:40 PM
Saving only new audio files to existing session franks dad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-21-2004 04:21 AM
New Cards with Existing 888/24?s tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-17-2002 07:44 PM
Project's fee riorecords 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-15-2000 09:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com