Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2019, 11:32 AM
johnpedigo johnpedigo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2
Default Assertion Error 230

Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I've spent several days now sifting through these threads (and everywhere else in internet land) but haven't found my specific issue. I've tried LITERALLY every method I've found to fix the other assertion line errors but it still does nothing and I am a full week behind work and worried i'm going to have to shell out a bunch of money at another studio just to finish projects.

I am getting the insertion error :

Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/238950/ProTools/NewFileLibs/Sys/MacOS/Sys_FileLocMacOS.cpp", line 230.

I haven't seen anyone else with the line 230 version of the problem. What happens is, Everything works ok, HOWEVER if i push any empty plug in slot, the error comes up. This happens on every session. Even if I start a new session with one brand new audio track, there error comes up. I've tried multiple hard drives to see if it was a corruption - nothing seems to work.

I've trashed preferences, reinstalled PT 3 FULLY 3 times. I've reinstalled my Apollo software 3 times. I reinstalled and updated my OS to Mojave. I am going to the Apple store later to meet a technician although I don't have any faith in that trip.

I'm at a loss and can't figure what to do. Please help me.

- John

I'm using a MacBook Pro 2.5 GHZ intel i7, 16 GB ram, PT 12 (2019.5.0), UA Apollo interfaces (gray ones)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2019, 11:46 AM
Vilming Vilming is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 39
Default Re: Assertion Error 230

Maybe this works. Seems others solved the same problem.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=402484
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2019, 11:55 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,504
Default Re: Assertion Error 230

Hi John and welcome !

Don't know what things you did trying to solve it but ... try this :
Press N key while loading PT and change the audio interface back and forth .
( you can try playback with your integrated audio also for testing purposes )

Change the port where the Apollo is connected to another one available .

Check that all your plugins are up to date . You can try removing them from the plugins folder and running PT with any of them and see what happen .


Hope this helps ...or at least a start
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2019, 12:19 PM
johnpedigo johnpedigo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: Assertion Error 230

Thanks y'all for getting back!

I've gone through that other thread before and tried those methods. I've tried changing the playback engine method at startup and from the setup tab. I've also deleted the PT aggregate Audio Midi thingy.

And thank you for this latest option - Alas, I moved all the plug ins out of the folder, but the same problem continues.

All I can think is there is something wrong with my computer's OS? I've repaired disk permissions and all that.

I'm at a loss.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assertion Error Intransit Pro Tools 11 2 01-14-2015 03:44 PM
Can't complete request- assertion error and wmTDM Flag error crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-25-2009 03:56 PM
Assertion Error 305 with BFD Logan M 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-07-2007 01:35 AM
Neo Assertion Error Jeffrey Talbot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-05-2007 10:15 AM
OMF Import error Assertion Error 4044 DUCHUNTER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-08-2005 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com