Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old Today, 11:04 AM
7Seas's Avatar
7Seas 7Seas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 50
Default Re: Dither

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Any dither is "good" if you're not doing a final WAV for CD plant -- AS LONG AS YOU DON'T DOUBLE-DITHER. That is bad.

I'm sure most of you wondering about this issue don't have monitoring that is capable of revealing the difference in blind test, but if you do, read this.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Today, 03:07 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 508
Default Re: Dither

I am still surprised after all these years we cannot choose a third party dither when "exporting clips as files". Or even NOT to. Would be nice. Same with SRC. Maybe it will change some day.
__________________
10.12.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 32 gigs Ram, Apollo, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools HD 2018.7
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Today, 03:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,195
Default Re: Dither

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
I am still surprised after all these years we cannot choose a third party dither when "exporting clips as files". Or even NOT to. Would be nice. Same with SRC. Maybe it will change some day.
I haven't seen it a problem as this is not a final product. Care to elaborate why this is so important? For a single clip?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodhertz Good Dither — a world-class dither w/ simple controls goodhertz AAX Plug-ins 11 06-01-2015 04:41 PM
Can Dither in Export Prefs be changed to PowR Dither Mr. Anxiety Tips & Tricks 5 10-31-2009 10:28 PM
Dither ... placement of the dither plugin. tpthai2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-12-2007 07:20 AM
difference between POWr DIther and Dither benjaminbarry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-21-2004 03:38 PM
PT DITHER x masterist dither x TC masterxdither x l1, q10 dither Alécio Costa Tips & Tricks 9 02-24-2002 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com