Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2015, 03:52 PM
davedotpez davedotpez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Default Exporting markers within AAF's

Hey guys,

Can you include markers within AAF's when exporting out of Pro Tools?

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2015, 08:32 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,228
Default Re: Exporting markers within AAF's

I don't know, but I remember a while back using Standard MIDI files as a reliable way to move markers between workstations.

Out of curiosity, why do you need to export an AAF from Pro Tools?
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2015, 09:49 PM
davedotpez davedotpez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Default Re: Exporting markers within AAF's

We're recording VO for an animation in PT, and wanting to export the session as an AAF to give to the animation company's editor.

Really annoying if you can't export with markers....

D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2015, 03:01 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,525
Default Re: Exporting markers within AAF's

Quote:
Originally Posted by davedotpez View Post
Hey guys,

Can you include markers within AAF's when exporting out of Pro Tools?

Dave
I don't think this is possible. It works from MC to PT but haven't seen this work the other way.

Markers in MC are object based not time based as in PT so even if PT exported the markers to AAF I'm not sure how the MC would incorporate them into it's timeline.

I posted this 3 years ago. Hope one day we'll see it happen:

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...ers/91333-3779

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.9 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2015, 07:47 AM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 520
Default Re: Exporting markers within AAF's

I have a client who edits in FCPX and frequently sends me AAF files created through X2Pro, and his markers always show up in PT after the import. I've never tried going the other direction, so I can't say for sure whether it works or not, but this capability obviously exists outside the Avid framework. If I can remember, I'll ask him if there is some checkbox for marker export in the process.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2020.9.1, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2015, 09:25 PM
Andrew. D Andrew. D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 142
Default Re: Exporting markers within AAF's

Yes you can do that, follow these instructions

Create a midi track

With the new midi track selected, hit File > Export Midi

In The Following Dialog set the following:
Midi File Format: "0" (Unless you'd like to include ALL the session's midi tracks, in which case choose "1")
Location reference: "session start"
Select: "apply real time properties"
Save the midi file to your song's AAF Folder
__________________
Mac Pro, Mid 2010 dual 3.33 Ghz, 48 Gig RAM
Mac OS 10.14.5
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5
HD Native PCIe
Apogee Symphony I/O
Avid I/O
192 I/O
Waves DLI
Apogee Mini Me
Mbox Micro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2015, 01:56 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,525
Default Re: Exporting markers within AAF's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew. D View Post
Yes you can do that, follow these instructions

Create a midi track

With the new midi track selected, hit File > Export Midi

In The Following Dialog set the following:
Midi File Format: "0" (Unless you'd like to include ALL the session's midi tracks, in which case choose "1")
Location reference: "session start"
Select: "apply real time properties"
Save the midi file to your song's AAF Folder
How will the MediaComposer read the midi-file? Just put it into one of the MXF subfolders?

Thanks,

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.9 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2015, 04:49 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Exporting markers within AAF's

Whenever I need this, I export the midi as described above, then use Edimarker to deal with the rest. http://www.soundsinsync.com/products/edimarker
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-29-2015, 02:48 AM
mfranken's Avatar
mfranken mfranken is offline
Sounds In Sync
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 245
Default Re: Exporting markers within AAF's

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamasdragon View Post
Whenever I need this, I export the midi as described above, then use Edimarker to deal with the rest. http://www.soundsinsync.com/products/edimarker
EdiMarker can convert markers contained within a MIDI file into a text file, however I'm not sure MC can import a text file containing these TC locations and convert them into markers/locators. If it can please let me know, or if MC requires a text file with slightly different formatting I'd be happy to update EdiMarker.

Regards,

Mark
__________________
Mark Franken, MPSE
Dialogue editor/supervisor IMDb
Creator of 'EDI' applications for sound post editors
www.soundsinsync.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beat Markers Appearing As Elastic Audio Markers Fabdickson Pro Tools 9 1 03-06-2012 05:03 PM
Exporting Markers to New Session Gilliss Tips & Tricks 5 01-26-2007 08:40 PM
Importing/exporting markers bassist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-17-2005 12:31 PM
exporting markers as text? AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-05-2001 06:33 AM
Exporting Markers? Matt Stutter Tips & Tricks 13 05-15-2001 11:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com