Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2014, 04:57 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default PT 11.1.1 update question

Other than the vertical dragging of clips that shares a crossfade and importing AAF originally exported from Nuendo is there anything that this update really does that would make me want to do it? Don't use or get files from Nuendo and the clip drag/crossfades issue isn't part of my workflow.

Other than this this update seems kind of meh. When I saw the version number I was hoping we'd at least have gotten a functioning 11 Rack control window. I mean it would have been a perfect Nigel Tuffnel moment
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 01-09-2014 at 04:58 AM. Reason: asking for thread title change
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2014, 05:04 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

Thoughts anyone?
And along with this - is there any scuttlebutt on further PT11 updates? I know Avid generally doesn't talk about such things and that's cool.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2014, 05:18 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,566
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

I "test" every update no matter what. Alway using a cloned partition to be safe.

As for the future, Avid seems to be more dedicated than ever to release .x and .1.x releases on a fairly regular basis and I expect that to continue. Especially once the big bugs of 11 are ironed out and they can start to put in more features.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2014, 05:40 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
I "test" every update no matter what. Alway using a cloned partition to be safe.

As for the future, Avid seems to be more dedicated than ever to release .x and .1.x releases on a fairly regular basis and I expect that to continue. Especially once the big bugs of 11 are ironed out and they can start to put in more features.
It's not so much testing as what's in it that would make me want to download and use it when what are the two fixes are something that's not in my current workflow (and probably never will be)? Seems kind of a lame update to me.

The only feature I really want at this time is what just about everyone else wants - 11R control window in PT11.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2014, 05:46 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,566
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

I have no idea if they do this, but based on my experience, I think there are tweaks, fixes, etc that are in builds that aren't in the release notes.

Sometimes versions just have a "vibe" for lack of a better word. Versions that just WORKED. I seek these out!!!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2014, 06:55 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

Definitely agree with that sentiment. 11.1 was working quite well for me, went to 11.1.1 and started getting video engine and AAE errors. For the first time in many years I've gone back a version and all good again. Will try the next release when it comes out.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2014, 07:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
Definitely agree with that sentiment. 11.1 was working quite well for me, went to 11.1.1 and started getting video engine and AAE errors. For the first time in many years I've gone back a version and all good again. Will try the next release when it comes out.

Pete
Being as there's no uninstaller as such for PT11 on a Mac did you have any issues going backwards to the previous version? I've seen some programs protest when trying to install an older version over a newer one.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2014, 07:41 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

No trouble, there's no installer either. It's a drag and drop install / drag to Trash uninstall. PT11 runs some pre-flight checks when it starts but I had no problem with those. I'm convinced 11.1.1 has changed more than the release notes would indicate and, with my system at least, didn't work well.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2014, 07:43 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

How to manually uninstall Pro Tools 11
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2014, 11:53 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,232
Default Re: PT11.1.1 update question

I didnt know that was not an uninstaller for pt11. This may account for a serious problem i had yesterday upgrading from PT11.02>>PT11.1.1
I used the uninstaller..clean uninstall. (not sure what it did if there is no uninstaller for PT11..after reading this thread ...on reflection it must have been the PT10+ uninstaller)
Anyhow upon reboot my mac mini running Mountain Lion 10.8 came up with the hazard sign momentarily(circle with diagonal line thru it)... it then proceeded to boot, only to display the "You need to re-install your OS"
If it was a kernal panic.which i,ve had once before, then it was a different scenario on reboot than what i have previously experienced. Soooo it took 2/3 hours to re-install the OS and thankfully all my files and such were still in place. I,m actually still using PT10.3 on another drive...so just testing/configuring this drive with PT11 until its stable..thankfully there`s not a lot on it at the moment but its a sharp reminder for me to get it backed up. Its early on to say if its running okay but it seems to be.
A weird one nonetheless....live and learn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
update question mojomike macOS 3 07-27-2012 08:43 PM
update question heiner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-28-2009 05:20 PM
PT 7.4.2 Update Question. Lastmanback 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-20-2008 09:16 AM
again my question UPDATE? meric 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-06-2005 04:44 PM
update question patrick q 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-08-2004 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com