Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2014, 01:37 PM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 131
Default A Few Questions About HD|Native

I recently updated to PT11, which has been great, for the most part. I'm using it with an Mbox 3 Pro. I'm still fighting some latency issues, and am looking around at some options. Is anyone using any of the HD|Native products? I've seen some good latency numbers from the Avid website , 1.7 milliseconds seems impressive. It lists "Top Performing Firewire Interfaces" at 5.3 milliseconds... I'm guessing that would be my Mbox 3 Pro and the like? Are "real life" users having any latency issues with HD|Native? How are the pres in the Omni? Are they a step up from my Mbox 3 Pro? I mainly use my X73i when tracking vocals and instruments, but it would be nice to have another good pre amp option.

I'm not familiar with HD systems and the PCIe cards. Is that a card that I need to physically install into my iMac? Or does it connect via thunderbolt?

Also, and this is a big part of my decision, I just spent about $3K updating plugins to AAX 64. Will my native plugins work with HD|Native, or will I need to go TDM?

Thanks a bunch!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:01 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,566
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminjamesp View Post
I recently updated to PT11, which has been great, for the most part. I'm using it with an Mbox 3 Pro. I'm still fighting some latency issues, and am looking around at some options. Is anyone using any of the HD|Native products? I've seen some good latency numbers from the Avid website , 1.7 milliseconds seems impressive. It lists "Top Performing Firewire Interfaces" at 5.3 milliseconds... I'm guessing that would be my Mbox 3 Pro and the like? Are "real life" users having any latency issues with HD|Native? How are the pres in the Omni? Are they a step up from my Mbox 3 Pro? I mainly use my X73i when tracking vocals and instruments, but it would be nice to have another good pre amp option.

I'm not familiar with HD systems and the PCIe cards. Is that a card that I need to physically install into my iMac? Or does it connect via thunderbolt?

Also, and this is a big part of my decision, I just spent about $3K updating plugins to AAX 64. Will my native plugins work with HD|Native, or will I need to go TDM?

Thanks a bunch!!
1.7ms is for 96k sessions at a buffer setting of 64 or 44.1/48k sessions at a buffer of 32. Your computer may or may not be able to do that. I remember someone posting about having issues possibly related to their chassis, would have to do a search.

I use my Native card set to 64 samples (at 44.1) and track bands all the time without issue. However, as evidenced by a recent thread here, some people don't find this acceptable. Maybe you're one of them? Who knows.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=348426

Don't know about the pres in the Omni, but the converters are the same as my HD I/O and they are very good IMO.

You could/should get HD Native Thunderbolt which would connect directly to your iMac.

All your plugs will work just fine on the new setup.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:13 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

HDN latency is only 1.7ms at 96kHz/64buffer
44.1/32 is 3.35ms
44.1/64 is 4.8ms

Yes - the thread above seems like a good read for you...

For further entertainment: A recent poll regarding latency...
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/music...-software.html
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:20 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

TDM is dead, all Native plugs work on DSP system but HDN is a Native system so your good

For an iMac you would want to get the HDN|Thunderbolt box. no space for a card in an iMac

I have not used the HDN stuff yet so I can not directly comment on latency but most people seem happy with it
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:21 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,566
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
44.1/32 is 3.35ms
I'm curious why it wouldn't be the same as 64 @ 96k?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:31 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
I'm curious why it wouldn't be the same as 64 @ 96k?
The reason for this is that the converters in the AVID I/O's change "mode" between 44.1 and 96kHz - mode being how the conversion is being done - my memory says this was to achieve better sound at 44.1kHz. I need to find the original AVID post! Regardless, I have done repeated measurements and am very sure of this. This also has a dramatic impact on the Low Latency Monitor path (LLM)

0.47ms at 96kHz and
1.9ms at 44.1
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:47 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

So what is the latency at 48k on an Avid HD I/O?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:50 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

I never measured at 48kHz but I "assume" it is slightly less than 44.1 - no mode change...

FWIW here is one of the original AVID posts that clearly supports 96kHz as the only 1.7ms one - I got pretty close to these numbers when i measured...

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/pro-t...hd-native.html
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:54 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
. This also has a dramatic impact on the Low Latency Monitor path (LLM)

0.47ms at 96kHz and
1.9ms at 44.1
This is measured without plugs in the chain right ?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:57 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: A Few Questions About HD|Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
This is measured without plugs in the chain right ?
That is correct. The LLM path does not allow plugins and is pretty close to just the sum of the A/D and D/A conversion times.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A few questions about PT 10 Native... ctyelvis macOS 6 12-08-2011 05:28 PM
TL Space Native questions Vedat Post - Surround - Video 3 02-08-2011 05:23 PM
PT 9 and HD Native Questions RuffinMedia Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-24-2010 10:26 AM
HD Native - 3 simple questions holyspicoli Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 10-08-2010 01:04 AM
Native Instruments questions Larryboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 11-25-2003 07:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com