Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 03-12-2006, 08:27 AM

Default Getting Started as a Mixing Engineer

Hey everyone,

My parents are getting kind of pissed about the noise I've been making and the strangers i've been bringing into my house for the past 3 years. I was thinking about putting recording on hiatus for a while and trying to start something as a mixing engineer. I would assume this is something much harder to get a good client base for, but a steady 9-5 every day doesnt really matter to me. I'm a student at Umass lowell for Sound Recording so a lot of my time is taken up anyways. I was wondering if any of you could point me in the right direction, or if any of you are actually doing this some tips would be great. Im just not sure where to get started. Do you think advertising in a magazine would get me any jobs?

-shawn
Old 03-12-2006, 08:54 AM

Default Re: Getting Started as a Mixing Engineer

I too have been on that boat. And I've found it almost impossible (personally) even with almost 15 years of engineering experience to land something in a studio. The only alternative I've had is make my own studio. I've noticed most studios around Detroit including myself really don't do the intern stuff. They're on the job being paid by an artist and prefer to work in their own realm without someone else being there.

Based on my own personal situation, I've noticed it's about who you know and (of course) what you know. I notice most engineers that work for owners of the studio are generally really good friends. And rightfully so, if you had hundreds of thousands of dollars in studio equipment in a building...you want to make sure you trust the guy.