Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2012, 02:24 PM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Snapshots?

What are they talking about at 3:55?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ez-G5jgebw
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2012, 05:54 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: Snapshots?

PTHD has a Capture and Punch Capture feature that allow you to "capture" automation and "punch" it into other parts of the song for example. It works without a controller but is at its best with an ICON. I use them all the time.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2012, 03:21 PM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: Snapshots?

How? You mean the same as normal automation snapshots?

Here they are talking about something different "you get 48 snapshots".

Seems like most of the other things describe pt10 but this got left out
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2012, 03:43 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: Snapshots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Drake View Post
How? You mean the same as normal automation snapshots?

Here they are talking about something different "you get 48 snapshots".

Seems like most of the other things describe pt10 but this got left out
48 refer to how many can be saved on an ICON as opposed to just one in the app itself.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2012, 03:31 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Snapshots?

Plenty of uses for snapshots. Not necessarily to punch in and write or overwrite automation.

I use it for example to store different Mix versions of lead vocal levels.


Lead +1.0
Lead +0.5
Lead +0.0
Lead -0.5
Lead -1.0

etc etc ...

In preview, These are recallable on the fly and give you an instant feel for that sort of stuff. Very handy !!! without actually writing stuff

Chrs
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2012, 07:26 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
48 refer to how many can be saved on an ICON as opposed to just one in the app itself.
And this is ridiculous! Avid should make it available for all HD users, not only icon users!
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 48GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT HDX, PT 2020.9.1, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2012, 10:42 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,500
Default Re: Snapshots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
And this is ridiculous! Avid should make it available for all HD users, not only icon users!
the diff is, if I'm not mistaking, Pro tools only stores one in the program, will the icon stores the others internally in the controller memory. So to make that available to all users would mean to give an icon to all users
__________________
Manny.

https://wn.nr/JWU7cA
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2012, 03:34 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
the diff is, if I'm not mistaking, Pro tools only stores one in the program, will the icon stores the others internally in the controller memory. So to make that available to all users would mean to give an icon to all users
Say what? It's a software imposed limitation. Do you think a program that has 32 levels of undo and loads the hole session into the ram can not store some automation memory?
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 48GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT HDX, PT 2020.9.1, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2012, 03:46 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Snapshots?

Snapshots are saved with the PT session file.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2012, 08:22 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,500
Default Re: Snapshots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Snapshots are saved with the PT session file.
Yep, and yep to fidelis too, but here we stand with the old debate that do we give everything or do we keep some that will give slightly more incentive to people that needs it to go with hd and the hardware that goes with it.
__________________
Manny.

https://wn.nr/JWU7cA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help with Snapshots! Daniel Ellis VENUE Live Sound Systems 9 02-26-2015 02:11 PM
Snapshots jacko Avid S6 17 01-25-2014 08:53 AM
Snapshots - Aux Mon vs. Aux FX spendergrass VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 09-23-2010 03:07 PM
Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots? thirdrailrecording VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 03-24-2010 06:04 AM
snapshots Brian_Gray 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-26-2003 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com