Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2012, 06:30 PM
jimmylee jimmylee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Provo USA
Posts: 10
Default White-noise/static until I change the buffer size

When I open a project and play it back, about 80% of the time I get a horrible white noise sound mixed in with my tracks. During these times if I change the buffer size (even to a smaller size) the noise will go away until...(see next paragraph).

One other instance when this noise is heard is when playing a part of a session that has a lot of virtual instruments. I'll begin hearing cracks and pops during these times and then bam, it's like a switch gets flipped, the playback goes mute for a split second and then the white-noise mixed with my tracks begin to playback. If I have a larger buffer size during times of multiple VIs being played then the problem happens less, but it'll still occur occasionally.

I had this issue on my old computer, but over time the problem became permanent and I always had playback with lots of noise, but then that computer died, and so I thought the problem was history. However, on my new computer I'm getting the same thing. I'm VERY nervous that history will replay itself and the problem will become permanent once again.

I am stumped.

I have an mbox mini (3rd generation) and a midi controller plugged into my box. Running Pro Tools 10.3.2.

Here is my SANDRA report.

ID
Host Name : CS450x-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : Sweetwater Sound CS450x
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : Intel DZ77RE-75K
BIOS : Intel GAZ7711H.86A.0049.2012.0713.1518 07/13/2012
Intel vPro : 8.00.13.1502
Total Memory : 16GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 V2 @ 3.50GHz (4C 8T 3.39GHz, 3.4GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1155

Chipset
Memory Controller : Intel Core (Ivy Bridge) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 8GB DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : 7F7F7F7F7F7F7F3E LIFETIMEMEMORYCOM 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : 7F7F7F7F7F7F7F3E LIFETIMEMEMORYCOM 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)

Storage Devices
Seagate ST2000DM001-1CH164 (2TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 2TB (D:)
INTEL SSDSC2CW240A3 (240GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD) : 224GB (C:)
Generic USB SD Reader (USB2) : N/A (F:)
Generic USB CF Reader (USB2) : N/A (G:)
Generic USB xD/SM Reader (USB2) : N/A (H:)
Generic USB MS Reader (USB2) : N/A (I:)
ATAPI iHAS224 B (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Audio (D:) : 2TB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST2000DM001-1CH164 (2TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Hard Disk (C:) : 206GB (NTFS) @ INTEL SSDSC2CW240A3 (240GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Removable Drive (F:) : N/A @ Generic USB SD Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (G:) : N/A @ Generic USB CF Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ Generic USB xD/SM Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (I:) : N/A @ Generic USB MS Reader (USB2)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ ATAPI iHAS224 B (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Intel Panther Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Nuovoton LPC
Audio Device : Intel Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Device : ASUS Manhattan HDMI Audio [Mobility Radeon HD 5000 Series]
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Intel Panther Point 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Intel 91xx SATA 6G Controller
Disk Controller : Intel 91xx SATA 6G Controller
USB Controller 1 : Intel Panther Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Intel Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : Intel Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Intel TSB43AB22 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/Link-Layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : SMBus Dev Drv 1

Peripherals

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82574L Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Wireless Adapter : 802.11bgn 1T1R Wireless Adapter

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:09 PM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Cool Re: White-noise/static until I change the buffer size

I honestly think it has to do with the particular release of PTools. With the multiple updates offered, I have noticed that with some versions this static occurs at certain buffer sizes and with other releases it does not. Pro tools is a very awesome program, but its downfall is how picky it is regarding system specifications.

I would try to install an earlier version and see if it helps. I noticed that this problem happens on my system with version 10.3.2. I am hoping that they release another version that eliminates this issue. I am sure we are going to hear tons of people say "works fine here" which is unhelpful and semi funny! Good luck.
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2012, 05:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,926
Default Re: White-noise/static until I change the buffer size

Try disabling wifi too.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2012, 06:03 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: White-noise/static until I change the buffer size

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Try disabling wifi too.
I don't think he is referring to the "pop and click sound" that can be eliminated by disabling network adapters. It is more of a crackle/white noise static that only occurs at certain buffer sizes (for me, mostly at 1024 samples). It also sounds like it swells, similarly to a flanger effect, but with static/white noise. I am 99% certain is is related to the 10.3.2 release because of reasons I stated earlier. Frustrating to say the least.
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2012, 08:56 AM
txrx txrx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 112
Default Re: White-noise/static until I change the buffer size

louieshowers could you post a sound click here ? i would like to hear how its like.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2012, 10:09 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: White-noise/static until I change the buffer size

Quote:
Originally Posted by txrx View Post
louieshowers could you post a sound click here ? i would like to hear how its like.
I absolutely can. I will when I get home. It wont be for a couple of hours.


UPdate: I can't seem to replicate it now. But as soon as i hear it, i will bounce an audio sample.

thx,

Showers
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
static white noise Rawer macOS 15 03-31-2013 02:16 PM
Static/white noise during playback Harveyt101 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 10 09-03-2010 05:56 AM
Static noise (aka White noise ) During playback. =/ PoPimp3069 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-23-2010 05:06 PM
Static/White Noise Neodustin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-06-2006 05:21 PM
LE 6.2.3 Static Or White Noise During Playback!! Sicks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 05-15-2004 08:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com