Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2006, 03:25 AM
peter99 peter99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Default mono or stereo aux busses for effects

just wondering

what are you using for reverbs and delays... mono or stereo?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2006, 04:23 AM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: mono or stereo aux busses for effects

If an effect has a mono input it only makes sense to use a mono send.
If an effect has a mono output it only makes sense to use a mono return.

If an effect has a stereo input it makes sense to use a stereo send bus feeding it.

An effect with stereo outputs is best served by a stereo Aux for its return path. Use the return’s Aux pan controls to determine the width and position of the effected signal.

Some plugins will accept a mono input and create a stereo output. In those cases, PT will automatically convert an Aux channel from mono to stereo. Feed these with a mono path.

IHTH.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2006, 05:59 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: mono or stereo aux busses for effects

Quote:
Some plugins will accept a mono input and create a stereo output. In those cases, PT will automatically convert an Aux channel from mono to stereo. Feed these with a mono path.
.
Not quite. Making the aux mono or stereo only determines how many inputs it will have. If PT changes a mono aux when a stereo plug is inserted, only the outputs are changed, it's still fed by a single aux.
drew
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2006, 07:55 AM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: mono or stereo aux busses for effects

How's that different from what I wrote?
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2006, 08:39 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: mono or stereo aux busses for effects

sounded different in my head at 8am.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2006, 02:48 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: mono or stereo aux busses for effects

A pre-coffee send?
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2006, 04:48 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: mono or stereo aux busses for effects

Quote:
If an effect has a mono input it only makes sense to use a mono send.
If an effect has a mono output it only makes sense to use a mono return.

If an effect has a stereo input it makes sense to use a stereo send bus feeding it.

An effect with stereo outputs is best served by a stereo Aux for its return path. Use the return’s Aux pan controls to determine the width and position of the effected signal.

Some plugins will accept a mono input and create a stereo output. In those cases, PT will automatically convert an Aux channel from mono to stereo. Feed these with a mono path.

IHTH.

.
as far as I know most of the reverb plugins have mono and stereo input... you can choose

maybe my question wasnt specific enough - I was wondering if you guys use mono sends (and route it to a mono to stereo reverb) or do you use stereo to stereo sends..!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2006, 06:43 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: mono or stereo aux busses for effects

Use whatever makes sense with a specific situation. That’s how I approach things every time.

The variables are so many* that it would take 71.4% of eternity to describe all the available avenues. And even then, the fact remains that there really are no rules. Experiment with the options at your disposal — it’ll teach you more than you’ll ever be able to glean from a handful of posts (even if extremely well-written).

* Nature of source; nature and number of available reverbs; use of reverbs on other tracks, function of the source within the arrangement; nature of the piece; nature of the act; etc.

IHTH.

Quote:
[…] maybe my question wasnt specific enough…
Your question? Could this be the first schizophrenic post on the DUC? Are you peter99 or lukeyy? Are there more of you?

__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixture of Mono and Stereo busses jeremy@jjlee.com VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-06-2012 12:59 PM
making mono track into stereo or double mono in PT7LE VeganMuso 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-02-2012 06:36 AM
How to split a stereo bus into 2 mono busses zenstone Tips & Tricks 3 02-16-2011 06:05 PM
Stereo Aux vs Mono Aux and Turning that Mono into stereo via a stereo Plugin JesseF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 02-14-2010 10:01 AM
I only get 16 mono busses... Ante 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-02-2009 09:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com