Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-10-2009, 08:28 AM
spy2520 spy2520 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

The computer market (especially laptops) is pushing 64-bit hard. So supporting 64-bit will allow you to run into best buy and pick up any new laptop without specifically identifying 32-bit OS on it. Atleast thats the way i see it. All my new systems are 64-bit and i have PT on an ancient XP partition still.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-10-2009, 08:52 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,437
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by spy2520 View Post
The computer market (especially laptops) is pushing 64-bit hard. So supporting 64-bit will allow you to run into best buy and pick up any new laptop without specifically identifying 32-bit OS on it. Atleast thats the way i see it. All my new systems are 64-bit and i have PT on an ancient XP partition still.
Which is another reason to build your Pro Tools PC and not buy one thats been preloaded with tons of crap software.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-10-2009, 08:53 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,437
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by uz3r View Post
Hurry up Digidesign. I have my copy of Windows 7 64 and I want to install it, this is ridiculous. If you cant complete a 64 bit engine, at least put together some basic drivers.

If my Mbox died today there is no way I would buy another Digi product because of this debacle.
If your Mbox is a USB interface, then you can run it on Windows 7 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-10-2009, 10:38 AM
Ill Soul Productions Ill Soul Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Leonardtown Maryland
Posts: 13
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

Really?
I have windows 7 and i was gonna wait and see what happens before i installed it and used it with my pro tools 8 setup.

Are the chances of it working greater because my mbox mini is usb?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-10-2009, 11:05 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,560
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

Yeah, I know, it's all 64-bit at Best Buy now, except stuff that is on sale. But, like somebody said, the last thing you want for PT is a computer from Best Buy.

Digidesign is pushing PT 8.x really hard, too, but I'm sticking with 7.3.1 until I stop seeing a constant stream of DUC messages like "I just upgraded to the latest version and now I can't do XYZ anymore. When you click on the thingy, the doohicky disappears and the only way to get it back is to restart..." Like 10 per day on each platform. Call me a chicken.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2018.x HD | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2018.x | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-10-2009, 11:18 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

Hoping, yes we are. Waiting : for change to come
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-10-2009, 11:44 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,437
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ill Soul Productions View Post
Really?
I have windows 7 and i was gonna wait and see what happens before i installed it and used it with my pro tools 8 setup.

Are the chances of it working greater because my mbox mini is usb?
Come here. lots of people using 32 and 64 bit Win 7 with PT


http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=257999
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-10-2009, 09:22 PM
spy2520 spy2520 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Which is another reason to build your Pro Tools PC and not buy one thats been preloaded with tons of crap software.
I agree in the case of desktops, laptops are another story. However almost every other DAW supports 64-bit, so its not like we're asking for too much.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-11-2009, 01:19 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,647
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

A reasonable desire may not always be the mother of a reasonable result.

The Buddha (more or less).

__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-11-2009, 04:05 PM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: We are hoping,waiting__ WIN7/PT compatibility

Today Installed WINDOWS 7 64 bits whith MBOX 2 PRO firewire, laptop HP NW 9440 working , no errors , no problems next i'll try whith 003+
Feel like we are making the DIGI'S JOB
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3L WIN7/8 Compatibility? Nish VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 11-29-2013 06:17 AM
Essentials 8.0.2 Win7 compatibility Chrono Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 12-31-2009 11:21 AM
When is Avid going to update the Win7 compatibility announment ? adelestevens 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-26-2009 05:47 AM
I'm hoping... MusSickIzLife 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-09-2004 09:36 AM
Anyone else hoping for new look for PT6? ckevperry Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 33 09-08-2002 12:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com