Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2009, 10:15 AM
slinky005 slinky005 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 43
Default 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

Will be upgrading my P4 in the coming months. I have read a lot about using 64 bit OS but never heard anyone hear talk about their 64bit hardware. My question essentially is : In order to run a 64 bit OS in Windows, is the motherboard and memory the only things that I have to consider hardware wise? Believe it or not I have been using an off the shelf Dell P4 2.4 with 2gb of Ram for the last 6 years. Any reason not to go Dell again?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2009, 11:55 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,647
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

The only reason not to go with Dell is that more hardware related issues are with Dell computers than with any other single brand here on the DUC.
Most modern systems will handle a 64 bit OS just fine as long as Pro Tools is not installed. Watch for the release of the 64bit drivers that may change that. Those drivers will likely be for Windows7.

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...0&itemid=38973
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2009, 01:20 PM
slinky005 slinky005 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 43
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

When I am buying a machine doesn't it have to be 64bit compatible?
(MOBO etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2009, 04:57 PM
spy2520 spy2520 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slinky005 View Post
When I am buying a machine doesn't it have to be 64bit compatible?
(MOBO etc.)
The cpu is the only thing that needs to be able to handle 64-bit code. All the modern stuff is 64-bit compatible except maybe the lowest level processors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2009, 06:05 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,558
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

AND Pro Tools at this point is written specifically for 32-bit platforms.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2009, 07:47 PM
GordonFreeman GordonFreeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In Hell
Posts: 455
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slinky005 View Post
Will be upgrading my P4 in the coming months. I have read a lot about using 64 bit OS but never heard anyone hear talk about their 64bit hardware. My question essentially is : In order to run a 64 bit OS in Windows, is the motherboard and memory the only things that I have to consider hardware wise? Believe it or not I have been using an off the shelf Dell P4 2.4 with 2gb of Ram for the last 6 years. Any reason not to go Dell again?
OK... and WHO exactly told you that Pro Tools would run on a 64 bit OS?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2009, 08:39 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,558
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

And AGAIN:

Officially Supported:
  • Windows Vista Business
  • Windows Vista Ultimate
    • 32-bit OS Installation Only
  • Not Supported:
    • Windows Vista 64-bit (any version)
  • Not Tested:
    • Windows Vista Home and Home Premium Edition
    • Although Windows Vista Home and Home Premium Edition have not been tested or qualified by Digidesign, there are currently no known issues with Vista Home and Home Premium 32-bit operating systems and Pro Tools LE 7.4 compared to the supported Windows Vista Business or Ultimate Edition operating systems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2009, 04:48 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,647
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

And again,


Microsoft has announced that they will begin shipping the new Windows 7 32/64-bit operating system on October 22, 2009. Avid is working closely with Microsoft to deliver compatible, high-quality versions of Pro Tools®, including compatibility with the 64-bit version, as soon as possible. Please check back periodically for updates on Avid's Windows 7 support status.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2009, 04:54 AM
GordonFreeman GordonFreeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In Hell
Posts: 455
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
And again,


Microsoft has announced that they will begin shipping the new Windows 7 32/64-bit operating system on October 22, 2009. Avid is working closely with Microsoft to deliver compatible, high-quality versions of Pro Tools®, including compatibility with the 64-bit version, as soon as possible. Please check back periodically for updates on Avid's Windows 7 support status.
Where did you read that?

I think

I think I just had an orgasm.

Wait, no, I didn't. 7.3.1 FTW!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2009, 05:06 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,647
Default Re: 64 bit Hardware - What to get?

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...0&itemid=38973
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'Unable to locate M-Audio hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned o roland342 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-29-2012 09:01 AM
"Unable to locate M-Audio hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned o MerryD Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 8 08-02-2012 12:59 AM
Unable to locate M-Audio Hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned on ytass Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 11-25-2009 12:49 PM
unable to locate m-audio hardware. make sure your hardware is..works fine in ableton? pein Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-07-2009 12:01 AM
unable to locate M-Audio hardware. Make sure your hardware is connected and turned on joskraus Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 13 05-13-2009 09:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com