Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2020, 01:39 PM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 234
Default Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

mac system details in sig

I've been running PT 11 HD w/o the PCI card and OMNI . Works OK, but too easily overloaded.

After reinstalling the PCI and OMNI there is no difference in CPU load. I've done basic trouble shooting - reseat PCI card, reseat cables, etc. - to no avail.

Thoughts?
__________________
Ron Stephens
ron@stephensfam.net
Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, macOS 10.11.6, MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2020, 03:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,603
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

Assuming you are actually referring to the HD/Native PCIe card? The smallish card with 2 mini-digilink ports? This card has no processing on it and so it doesn't offer much in the way of performance over any non-card based setup. What it DOES offer is 64 IO(with non-digilink hardware, you are limited to 32 IO). So its down to the specs of your computer(which is quite old) Moving to a newer Mac Pro 5,1 with 12 cores and 32GB of faster RAM would likely make a big difference. I ran the HDN card(with 2 192's and 2 HD IO's) for several years on purpose-built PC's with 6 core i7 cpu and 32GB of RAM. Zero problems tracking full bands(up to 32 live inputs, dozens of plugins and 6 stereo headphone mixes via aux sends in the session)

Certain plugins will drag most any system to its knees(such as guitar amp sims, KeyScape and some other VI's that load a lot of samples). My cure for those was to use Track Commit to render amp sims immediately(so I didn't have several plugins running). In the case of KeyScape, I would track with MiniGrand or Lounge Lizard(depending on the sound) and once the midi was perfect, swap the plugin and commit(again, to free up resources).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2020, 07:22 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,658
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

You are also running El Capitan which is not supported for PT 11.3.2 and generally speaking not recommended for anything (worst OS ever, earnt the nickname El Crap).

Compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:32 PM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 234
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Assuming you are actually referring to the HD/Native PCIe card? The smallish card with 2 mini-digilink ports? This card has no processing on it and so it doesn't offer much in the way of performance over any non-card based setup.
Thanks for the response. I wish they had made that clear before I dropped 5k for nothing.
__________________
Ron Stephens
ron@stephensfam.net
Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, macOS 10.11.6, MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,658
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

5k what money? HDN card is less than 1k USD
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:39 PM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 234
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

Brand new HDN PCI Card and OMNI interface cost around 5k.
__________________
Ron Stephens
ron@stephensfam.net
Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, macOS 10.11.6, MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:40 PM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 234
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

PT 11.3.2 workks just fine on MacPro3,1 running El Capitan, as does PT 11.3.1.
__________________
Ron Stephens
ron@stephensfam.net
Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, macOS 10.11.6, MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:44 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,658
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronstephens View Post
Brand new HDN PCI Card and OMNI interface cost around 5k.
Well yeah, OMNI is a bit overpriced to my liking.

But good news is there is good 2nd hand market for mint HDN card (because those are not manufactured anymore therefore many cheesegrater owners willing to buy) and you can replace it with HDX card with very little trouble.

While HDN does not offer any extra processing power, it offers 64 i/o just the same as one card HDX system.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:54 PM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 234
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

Last thing I need is more inputs/outputs. :)
__________________
Ron Stephens
ron@stephensfam.net
Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, macOS 10.11.6, MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2020, 02:01 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,658
Default Re: Is my 11 HD Native PCI card working?

Just sayin' it sucks if you were misinformed when you made the purchase, but you don't need to change everything there. Just pick a HDX card and replace your HDN with it. You will 100% sure find a buyer for your old mint condition card.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT My HD Native Thunderbolt Box for your HD Native PCIe card whittybeats Buy & Sell 3 01-06-2018 12:52 PM
Trade hd native PCIe card for hd native thunderbolt card and cash? Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 8 03-22-2015 01:45 AM
EMI Noise: Graphics card to HD Native card jacknprewitt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2013 09:02 PM
Venue + mix rack + hdx card + pro tools hd native card ? hart07 VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-23-2012 12:02 PM
HD Native Card Possibly Fried My Graphics Card witrelo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-14-2011 11:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com