Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-28-2012, 03:28 PM

Default Opinions on the best live set up for 11R

i'm trying ti figure out how i'm going to play live with the 11 rack. i have a 4x12 cab with celestion V30's. should i get a power amp to run the 11 rack through my cab? should i get an amp head and run the 11 rack through my cab, or should i sell the cab and run my 11 rack through a powered pa speaker?

thanks for any replies
Old 06-29-2012, 01:32 AM

Default Re: Opinions on the best live set up for 11R

I'm mainly a studio engineer/producer, but I have used it hooked up to the FX-loop return on my Carvin Legacy amp head (+ Carvin 4x12 V30).

Both for tracking a real cabinet (great recording room in my studio + it's fun ) for studio work and also for some gigs (played by other). Both with great success.

I do not like to track all that much guitars in stereo, so I have set my 11R mostly to mono (for gigging anyway).
Then going from the 11R Main Out (one of them) to the FX-loop return on my amp.

If you really want stereo for your live sound, you can always get a dedicated stereo poweramp to feed your cabinet (either a stereo cab or two mono cabs).

All that said, you have to take care of your output level in two stages. First the Rig Out volume itself (balance these between presets), and then use the Main Out volume to feed your amp.

Another method is of corse to use one of the Output to Amp outputs. But these are constructed to go to your amp's input.

Either way, remember to turn of the cab simulation when going to a real cabinet.

Hope this helps.
Old 06-29-2012, 11:54 AM

Personally, I believe that the ER is best played through a full-range system having enough power to play at the volumes you prefer.