Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2019, 07:20 AM
DarkandKurious DarkandKurious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 71
Default Major MIDI bug

MIDI automation is leaking into the undo queue and causing havoc. Automating the modulation wheel literally means you can't undo anything, as the MIDI automation will change too dramatically (ie 100's undo commands in a bar) to undo an edit. This happens on PLAYBACK of MIDI automation. Also, editing MIDI note lengths while playing back causes crashes, presumably because of the seamless playback not being able to comprehend changes to the sample. This could be tied to the mod wheel/MIDI automation playback issue.

Has anyone else experienced this? The libraries doing this are Spitfire Alternative Strings. Haven't needed the mod wheel for my usual work, so I haven't seen this before. It could be library specific.

Kontakt 5.8.1, macOS 10.14.5, PT Vanilla.
__________________
MacBookPro15,3 i9 32GB Vega 20
macOS 10.14.5
Pro Tools 2019.5 Vanilla
Antelope Audio Zen Tour
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2019, 08:49 AM
migueldgoncalves migueldgoncalves is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
Posts: 36
Default Re: Major MIDI bug

Do you have the parameter enabled in the Plug-In Automation Window?

That will happen if you enable a parameter and control it via MIDI CC

Edit: Or maybe you have the "Plug-in Controls Default to Auto-Enabled" option checked?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2019, 10:10 AM
DarkandKurious DarkandKurious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 71
Default Re: Major MIDI bug

Thanks for your reply! Removing the parameter from the automation window solved this (so thank you!), but it is strange that this happens - essentially it is the same as the relationship between trim and the volume, two automation lanes controlling the same parameter. It is not a change to undo, just playing back/reading the automation that is written.
__________________
MacBookPro15,3 i9 32GB Vega 20
macOS 10.14.5
Pro Tools 2019.5 Vanilla
Antelope Audio Zen Tour
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2019, 10:27 AM
migueldgoncalves migueldgoncalves is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
Posts: 36
Default Re: Major MIDI bug

I assume Pro Tools thinks you're changing the parameters by steps, since it's MIDI.

It can be extremely useful when you want to record automation to Pro Tools by messing with the parameters in Kontakt with your mouse instead of assigning a MIDI CC.

I use that especially with Native Instrument's Thrill.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major MIDI problems Lana Banana Pro Tools 2019 2 05-17-2019 04:53 AM
Help! Major Midi problem after going 10.3.10 Alécio Costa Pro Tools 10 6 02-04-2016 11:17 AM
7.3.1cs3 MAJOR MIDI BUG Skyflash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-26-2007 10:23 AM
Major Midi Glitch in 7.3.1 StrangeBoyPro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-18-2007 08:23 PM
Need Some Major Midi Help finalcut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-28-2004 06:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com