Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-10-2018, 08:14 PM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 278
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I can confirm this makes PT usable on Mojave with lowest 32 buffer -- CPU load behaves nicely.
Doesn't disabeling Hyper-threading basically cut your CPU power in half!?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-2018, 09:17 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 527
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Wow! Most stable Protools platform I have ever had. No spikes and chrashes....smooth.

Sorry, I just had to share it with you.
Did you update to 10.14.2?

Also, do you leave turbo boost on?

Are you only disabling Hyperthreading?

Are you limiting the CPU?

THNKS! J
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-10-2018, 10:31 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,578
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

Quote:
Originally Posted by digiot View Post
Doesn't disabeling Hyper-threading basically cut your CPU power in half!?
No, just as enabling it doesn't double it. Hyperthreading has always been shaky due to its nature. True, the core might be idle at times, and giving it something else to do is a good idea for OFFLINE work. But if you think Protools and people who like to use 32 buffer instead of 256 for tracking, you need to move those data streams quickly and predictably (which is the #1 reason DSP systems still exist). So, if you want low buffers, hyperthreading doesn't look so good anymore, doesn't it?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-10-2018, 11:26 PM
indeloon85 indeloon85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 106
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

So I just tried turning off hyperthreading on 10.13.6. Definitely can’t handle 32 samples. Does ok at 64 though, but hoping this is still just the CPU spike bug that they mention on the site.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-10-2018, 11:28 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,204
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

32 samples is unreliable territory at the best of times. You likely should not have an expectation that works (and I'll be unconvinced by arguments that anybody needs 32 sampels vs 64 samples... and if you do then HDX is a reliable option).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-11-2018 at 12:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-11-2018, 12:01 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,578
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

I have 32 samples working just okay on mojave with hyperthreading off

(mac pro 6.1 w/ 64GB memory and 1TB storage)

just testing though, in real life i use 256 buffer to avoid sudden stops while recording
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-11-2018, 12:01 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 265
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnssn View Post
Did you update to 10.14.2?
Yes, but only test it with the internal Mac mini output. I have all my motu system out of the studio for a recording. With the Mac internal output was ok at 64, but at 32 it ran for about 2 min until the death message. I’ll post back once I test it.

Also, do you leave turbo boost on?
Yes, I’ve noticed that it performs better with it on. If I disable it it may cause some weird crashes and I’d have to restart the computer.

Are you only disabling Hyperthreading?
Yes

Are you limiting the CPU?
No, why should I do that?

THNKS! J
Anytime
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-11-2018, 12:12 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 265
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
32 samples is unreliable territory at the best of times. You likely should not have an expectation that works (and I'll be uncionvinced by arguemnts that anybody needs 32 sampels vs 64 samples... and if you do then HDX is a reliable option).
You’re right. I’m usually at 256 for mixing and 128 for recording, sometime go down to 64...but only with picky players.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-11-2018, 12:22 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,578
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

Yea there is no such thing as zero latency. HD systems build up latency as you add plugins, didn't you know? If I have some stuff on the mixer that the artist wants, the DSP latency is easily about 256 samples and somehow it's okay because it's HD

256 samples @48k is 5.33ms
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-11-2018, 12:56 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,204
Default Re: Mojave & hyperthreading off

Well you at least have the option of stability at very low latency... if you want to mess that up by letting people get what they want and adding plugin latency... ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mojave ? Riquier macOS 89 02-26-2019 06:41 PM
Anybody running their HDX rig with OS X Mojave yet? WildHoney Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-24-2018 12:19 PM
1st Mojave error mspin macOS 14 11-21-2018 05:15 AM
Mojave 10.14 install mspin macOS 6 09-26-2018 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com