Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2017, 11:24 AM
Slamuel Slamuel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Cincinnati, USA
Posts: 1
Default Bleed inside of Pro Tools 11 when hard panning

Hi,

I'm trying to put one region on the left track and another on the right track of a stereo mix but when the left ear gets to a soft part I can hear bleed from the right clear as day. I've tried using a single stereo track, two mono tracks hard panned, bouncing each out as mono and then re-importing, creating two mono master faders and assigning one to the left and the other to the right but nothing works. I'm using my built in output straight to my headphones.

Could this be a hardware issue with my laptop? I'm just at a loss because I didn't think cross-talk could happen inside of a DAW and I'm getting this issue before I bounce the tracks out (and after too). I have searched for threads on this topic already but nothing has worked. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2017, 06:19 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Bleed inside of Pro Tools 11 when hard panning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slamuel View Post
Hi,

I'm trying to put one region on the left track and another on the right track of a stereo mix but when the left ear gets to a soft part I can hear bleed from the right clear as day. I've tried using a single stereo track, two mono tracks hard panned, bouncing each out as mono and then re-importing, creating two mono master faders and assigning one to the left and the other to the right but nothing works. I'm using my built in output straight to my headphones.

Could this be a hardware issue with my laptop? I'm just at a loss because I didn't think cross-talk could happen inside of a DAW and I'm getting this issue before I bounce the tracks out (and after too). I have searched for threads on this topic already but nothing has worked. Any suggestions?
Do you have a "widener" on the master fader? Or something like Slate VCC?

You say you can hear it plain as day, but what do the meters and waveforms of the render file look like?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2017, 08:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,449
Default Re: Bleed inside of Pro Tools 11 when hard panning

And headphones...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2017, 05:31 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,749
Default Re: Bleed inside of Pro Tools 11 when hard panning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
And headphones...
Unless the headphone amp has a cross-feed function you shouldn't get channel bleed.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2017, 09:03 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,650
Default Re: Bleed inside of Pro Tools 11 when hard panning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slamuel View Post
Hi,

...
Could this be a hardware issue with my laptop?...
Yes.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2017, 10:56 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,749
Default Re: Bleed inside of Pro Tools 11 when hard panning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Yes.
He's on a MBP going direct to his cans and I have to wonder why he's not using the headphone output on his MBox III. To the best of my knowledge I don't believe either has a crossfeed function and neither do those Shure cans he's using. A thought does come to mind and that is with using both sets of I/O at the same time he's got to be using aggregate I/O and maybe that's the problem?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2017, 11:25 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: Bleed inside of Pro Tools 11 when hard panning

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
He's on a MBP going direct to his cans and I have to wonder why he's not using the headphone output on his MBox III. To the best of my knowledge I don't believe either has a crossfeed function and neither do those Shure cans he's using. A thought does come to mind and that is with using both sets of I/O at the same time he's got to be using aggregate I/O and maybe that's the problem?
I think Rich is saying that that crappy headphone amp could have unintentional crosstalk.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bleed over when hard panning peaveyfan Pro Tools 10 14 06-09-2015 05:28 AM
Panning bleed/crosstalk issues inside of Pro Tools friggindrummer macOS 14 08-21-2013 01:15 PM
PT9 bug: Hard panning reopening centered tclash macOS 0 06-07-2011 09:15 PM
Hard Panning Issues in PT LE linderefter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-13-2011 09:31 PM
HELP! Hard Panning bleed krop015 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-25-2010 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com