Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2021, 05:24 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,870
Default Ugg...I hate building new workstations

The thing I hate most about building new Protools work station is trying to get all the plugins installed and authorized. The iLok ones are relatively easy. But all the other's that don't use a centralized authorization service are a PITA.

And then you have to try to remember which one you had and where you kept the authorizations codes. resetting passwords to every website because you haven't logged in in 3 or 4 years. And then waiting for my slow ass satellite internet to download everything.

Wish there was a better way.

Would be cool if the iLok system had a link built in to go download the software automatically, so you just slect which ones you want to install and it fetches the installers remotely from each website.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2021, 11:23 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,280
Default Re: Ugg...I hate building new workstations

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
The thing I hate most about building new Protools work station is trying to get all the plugins installed and authorized. The iLok ones are relatively easy. But all the other's that don't use a centralized authorization service are a PITA.

And then you have to try to remember which one you had and where you kept the authorizations codes. resetting passwords to every website because you haven't logged in in 3 or 4 years. And then waiting for my slow ass satellite internet to download everything.

Wish there was a better way.

Would be cool if the iLok system had a link built in to go download the software automatically, so you just slect which ones you want to install and it fetches the installers remotely from each website.
This is why I dedicate a separate drive for nothing but installers. And a listing of what plugins I got from where, their auth codes, serial numbers, etc. And of course a list of site logins & passwords that is NOT on my computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2021, 01:19 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,870
Default Re: Ugg...I hate building new workstations

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
This is why I dedicate a separate drive for nothing but installers. And a listing of what plugins I got from where, their auth codes, serial numbers, etc. And of course a list of site logins & passwords that is NOT on my computer.
I used to keep a folder with all my installers and pass codes etc... on it.

But, I'm adding a MacBook Pro to my tool box, so I need all new installers anyway.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2021, 01:21 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,280
Default Re: Ugg...I hate building new workstations

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I used to keep a folder with all my installers and pass codes etc... on it.

But, I'm adding a MacBook Pro to my tool box, so I need all new installers anyway.
You giving up on Windoze?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2021, 05:19 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,870
Default Re: Ugg...I hate building new workstations

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
You giving up on Windoze?
Never said I was giving up Windows. I'm adding a Mac to the gear cabinet, mostly as a back up unit for my primary Windows machine and so I can do redundant recording for live events.

I only got the Mac so that I can run QLab. Otherwise I would have gotten another Lenovo P15 workstation.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2021, 09:30 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Ugg...I hate building new workstations

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
The thing I hate most about building new Protools work station is trying to get all the plugins installed and authorized.... Wish there was a better way...
Microsoft Sysprep.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2021, 07:25 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,332
Default Re: Ugg...I hate building new workstations

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Microsoft Sysprep.

What does this do?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2021, 08:39 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,870
Default Re: Ugg...I hate building new workstations

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
What does this do?
Furthermore, how does it apply to a Macintosh computer?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2020.12
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.12

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2021, 08:21 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Ugg...I hate building new workstations

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Furthermore, how does it apply to a Macintosh computer?
Win only.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Z4 Windows 10 Pro for Workstations Morpheo2k Pro Tools 2018 0 01-31-2019 06:48 AM
The right setup for 2 workstations HiLoc Artist Series 0 03-29-2012 12:57 AM
New HP workstations, maybe HD5 PCIe possible? usastra Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 03-31-2009 06:08 PM
DELL workstations for 001 georgethc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-22-2006 02:29 PM
Using one i-lock on several workstations? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-09-2005 04:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com