Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2017, 05:13 PM
GrimrDZ GrimrDZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default Please Help Me *Pro tools 8*

Ok.. ive looked througout this site to find a fix to my prob and no luck.. Hopefully someone can help me out.

I have a Windows 10 pc recently updated.

I was running pro tools on this pc no problem, then i got an error. when loading it said

"access violation at address at adress .... when loading modual avidmboxmini.dll"

I figured it had somthing to do with the drivers so i reinstalled them and now i get an error that says.
"DAE error -13001 was encountered"

I was going to uninstall and reinstall hoping that would sove my problem... BUT i cannot locate my CD which has my authorisation code on it.. i dont think i registered because i tried signing in to the avid site and it said account don't exist.... I have an old pc where i can still acess my pro tools so my question is....

Can i retrieve my serial # through the program somhow?
or
how can i fix that error?

Please HELP...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2017, 05:20 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,359
Default Re: Please Help Me *Pro tools 8*

You do know that PT8 and Windows 10 are not compatible right? That you were supposedly able to run it on your system up until this point doesn't matter. You're going to have to move up to PT12 or find a way to install a lower version of Windows on your computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details (note change to a new system Oct.7 2017)
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2017, 05:23 PM
GrimrDZ GrimrDZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default Re: Please Help Me *Pro tools 8*

Ok,
let say i want to install it on another pc i have... how can i get my authorisation key?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2017, 05:28 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,359
Default Re: Please Help Me *Pro tools 8*

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrimrDZ View Post
Ok,
let say i want to install it on another pc i have... how can i get my authorisation key?
If you didn't register or have any of the original documentation then you're screwed. UNLESS you could somehow find it in the Windows Registry. For that you'd have to go through and just hunt for it; looking for anything related to Digidesign might help in the search. Be careful mucking about in there as it's easy to muck up your computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details (note change to a new system Oct.7 2017)
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2017, 05:30 PM
GrimrDZ GrimrDZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default Re: Please Help Me *Pro tools 8*

its not what i wanted to hear..... but ill see what i can do... thanx again.. n i sent u a priv mssg wit same ??.. srry...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2017, 05:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,359
Default Re: Please Help Me *Pro tools 8*

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrimrDZ View Post
its not what i wanted to hear..... but ill see what i can do... thanx again.. n i sent u a priv mssg wit same ??.. srry...
Told you the same thing there like I told you here. Better to keep something like this in the forum so others in the same predicament can learn or even help.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details (note change to a new system Oct.7 2017)
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2017, 10:04 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,548
Default Re: Please Help Me *Pro tools 8*

Try Belarc Advisor on your old computer that has Pro Tools installed, it may be able to "see" your authorization code.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com