Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2017, 06:45 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,557
Default Plugin chains ??

Just thought see what chains people are using for certain instruments

E.g. My vocal chain is normally
AC1
H-EQ (surgical EQ)
C4
SSL E Channel (Musical EQ)
LA-2A
CLA1176
Pultec EQ

What are people's go to chains I'd love to no anything from Bass Drum, Bass Guitar to Keyboards


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 7, Windows 7 64 Bit, I7 960, Supermicro X8SAX, NVIDIA GeForce GT 610, 12GB Ram, Magma P7R464, Kingston SSD, 2 X WD Caviar Black, Dual Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2017, 07:20 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,591
Default Re: Plugin chains ??

For me it's always different, that is probably why it takes forever to finish my songs. Here's a bass chain that works here lately:
https://youtu.be/GIgxJ-qwWbw
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2017, 08:36 AM
Voideco's Avatar
Voideco Voideco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Posts: 836
Default Re: Plugin chains ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
For me it's always different, that is probably why it takes forever to finish my songs. Here's a bass chain that works here lately:
https://youtu.be/GIgxJ-qwWbw
Cool video´s there Amagrass! Checking into them because it´s useful info. Thank you :)
__________________
Mac Book Pro 2016 Retina, Quad core i7, 2,5 GHz
16 Gb 1600 MHz RAM, 256 SSD drive, 500 Gb SSD USB3
OSX Sierra 10.12.5, PT 12.7.1, UVI Falcon 1.0,
Metric Halo ULN8 Interface,
NI Komplete Control S49 midikeyboard
Shure SM57 mic, Beyer Dynamic M88 dynamic mic
2 Audio Technika AT4021 mics,
Washburn w/Seymour Duncan PAFF humbuckers
Fender Strat w/Seymour Duncan Hot Strat pickups
LAG Western guitar, Koch Pedaltone preamp
Rocktron Velocity Power Amp, 12" Celestion speaker.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2017, 10:22 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,397
Default Re: Plugin chains ??

At the top of every channel I have the Metric Halo Channel strip.

And that's it. It's all I need really.

How many EQs do you need on each channel? Maybe you should try using a different mic or moving the mic position if you need 3 or 4 different EQs.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 48GB, 256GB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 / Dante Virtual Soundcard / Protools 12.8.1
Work: nMacPro: 8-core, 64GB, 2.5TB SSD, 3TB HDD, Sierra / Focusrite Red 4Pre, HD32R / Yamaha CL5, 2x RIO3224D / Dante Virtual Soundcard / Protools HD 12.8.1, HDX
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2017, 12:13 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,591
Default Re: Plugin chains ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voideco View Post
Cool video´s there Amagrass! Checking into them because it´s useful info. Thank you :)
Thank you, I do my best
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2017, 06:47 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,347
Default Re: Plugin chains ??

I don't do plugin chains except on my 2-bus. Not a fan of eq just for eq's sake and only use it if absolutely necessary to cure sour notes or such and even then that's usually a dynamic eq (HOFA IQ-EQ). For compression on piano it's an LA2A emulation or the TCL2 from Plugin Alliance. For extremely difficult vi's with lots of peaks my go to is Stillwell Rocket which slays on both drums and synth vi's.

Start using too many plugins in a track and it's like over seasoning a steak while cooking it - pretty soon you lose what the piece of meat was supposed to taste like and you taste the spices and not the meat. For the Philistines out there you're welcome to pile it on.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details (note change to a new system Oct.7 2017)
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2017, 09:06 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,375
Default Re: Plugin chains ??

Well I have heard Raoul's recordings and he does a good job, so I think he is fine.

Remember there are always 2 ways to skin a cat.....
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2017, 01:57 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,557
Default Re: Plugin chains ??

Interesting to see different views. I watched the puremix Andrew Scheps Green Day mix thing last night and he didn't really do much to the session at all. He kept mentioning a rear bus which I think was his parallel comp bus for the whole mix which he slightly added in to the main bus to add some excitement and energy. I've read about other mixers who use lots of plugins on channels EQ Dan Lancaster (one of my fav mix engineers) and when I watched the CLA Slate tutorial, again he used lots of plugins on tracks. Interesting to see many different ways of people obtaining their goals.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 7, Windows 7 64 Bit, I7 960, Supermicro X8SAX, NVIDIA GeForce GT 610, 12GB Ram, Magma P7R464, Kingston SSD, 2 X WD Caviar Black, Dual Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2017, 05:00 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 10,846
Default Re: Plugin chains ??

amazing musicians and great tracking engineers make mixers look like geniuses everyday.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2017, 05:04 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,375
Default Plugin chains ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
I watched the puremix Andrew Scheps Green Day mix thing last night and he didn't really do much to the session at all. He kept mentioning a rear bus which I think was his parallel comp bus for the whole mix which he slightly added in to the main bus to add some excitement and energy.

That is the real deal, I watched him do that on the Marley videos....wow!!!

I adopted it instantly and it does wonders.
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton

Last edited by YYR123; 09-08-2017 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create PlugIn Chains for Tracks??? mortensign Pro Tools 12 Discussion 6 03-20-2016 01:35 PM
Chains and signals vitolanzafame FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 6 07-04-2014 07:53 AM
Vocal Chains advision205 Tips & Tricks 8 01-05-2011 06:29 PM
Plugin Chains BabylonWillFall 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-10-2005 06:13 AM
Side Chains! Franchise 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 06-30-2004 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com