Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-08-2007, 12:39 PM

Default From PC to Mac...general questions...

Ok, I have made up my mind for sure and will be switching to Mac. I am a college student and will be getting the MacBook 2.0, 80 GB Harddrive 5400rpm, 2GB RAM since it is the cheapest route. I am really excited about the switch, but need to know a few things first:

1. I am currently running Pro Tools M-Powered 7.0 on a PC Laptop. When I get my mac, can I just take my Pro Tools M-Powered 7.0 software that I use on my pc and simply put it on my new macbook?

2. Once it is on my MacBook, should I then update to version 7.1? How does this work?

3. The MacBook meets all requirements except that it has a 5400 rpm hard drive. Is this a major problem??? It runs ok on my pc that is 5400 rpm now, but every once in a while I'll get the drive is too slow error...not that often though.

4. Any suggestions on how you guys would go about making the switch from a pc laptop with Pro Tools M-Powered 7.0 to a MacBook would be great...I don't want to have to buy new software, just the MacBook...

Seth
Old 02-08-2007, 05:45 PM

Default Re: From PC to Mac...general questions...

Your M-Powered package should have included an OSX version, but it will likely be 7.0 for PPC, and won't work on the MacBook.

You want 7.1.1 for Intel-based Macs. It's a free update from 7.0: http://www.m-audio.com/?do=products....1MacTel&form=1