Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-22-2003, 06:34 PM

Default Need help with mixdown

I am new to PT, use a 002 system, and can't figure out how to bounce my tracks down to stereo before I burn to disc so I can do a cd burn. the manual is pretty useless in this area. Can someone please tell me the sequence to get my tracks down to a stereo track that is ready to Burn to Disc so I can burn some cd's??
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 07-22-2003, 07:00 PM

Default Re: Need help with mixdown

First select the range to bounce. Under the file menu choose "bounce to disk". Pick the options for your stereo file, as well as stereo interleaved. Make sure to establish a file name and location. Engage.
Old 07-22-2003, 07:11 PM

Darren, I tried the bounce to disk and found that I could not make any changes to the audio as it was being transferred. What I need to know is how do I mix down my ten or twelve tracks where I am riding the faders, etc. to the final stereo track that I will then bounce to disk to be burned to a cd. I don't know how to do this.
Old 07-22-2003, 07:21 PM

You can not ride the faders or make any changes at all during a bounce.

PT allows you to write automation which you should become familar with. What you do is practise your mix moves like you would in a conventional studio, then set the Automation tab to "autowrite"; begin playback and then make your mix moves. When you stop the transport and play it again, your move will be part of the instruction for that channel.

Do that for all the tracks, monitor them until it is perfect and THEN bounce down to stereo.

Automation is the keyword, if you want to search the manual or the DUC.